paralyzed

par·a·lyze

–verb (used with object),-lyzed, -lyz·ing.
1. to bring to a condition of helpless stoppage, inactivity, or inability to act: The strike paralyzed communications.
 
Many have asked what’s my hold up when it comes to blogging.  Well, ladies and gentlemen, I’ve just been unable to begin.  Here’s the problem – I’m a perfectionist and although that could come across as a great thing, it’s actually not so peachy keen.  I wanted to be the best writer, have the best layout, pick the best blog program (is that what these things are even called?), have the best camera, with the best pictures,  the wittiest banter, and one trillion readers before I attemped to begin. 
 
This left me, (I bet you know where this is going), paralyzed.
 
It seems silly, right?  Being fearful of blogging? People are afraid of clowns, of death, roaches, snakes, uncooked chicken…..but never blogging. 
 
only when we are no longer afraid
do we begin to live — d thompson
 
So this is my small attempt at being one step closer to living.  It will be messy, I assure you.  I won’t have political debates or groundbreaking theological thoughts and you’ll find a few grammatical errors or misspelled words here and there.  There will be one million blogs with better looking people, professional photgraphs, perfect grammar, lovely music, yummy recipes…..but there will only be one that’s mine.  And that’s really all I need.
 
 
 
Tags:

14 Responses to “paralyzed”

  1. PG Says:

    Welcome to the world, Echo.

  2. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    I’d say this is a great start! And I definitely agree with the above quote on not being afraid anymore. Keep it up!

  3. D.Rodriguez Says:

    great first post!

  4. terryellison Says:

    Awesome Laura…This looks great and I know you will have great things to say to the world. Check my new one out as well….

    http://terryellison.me

  5. Joe Rodden Says:

    Welcome to the other side of the blogosphere!

  6. staci bishop Says:

    I cant wait to follow you through this journey. love you little lamb!

  7. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    you guys and gals are the best. who knew blogging could be so much fun? oh great, just one more social media outlet i’ll be addicted to. i’ll be stalking on you as well. don’t you worry.
    🙂

    xoxo!

  8. Cassie Says:

    I like it already. I thought you had a really great idea the night we had the weird fruit plate and went through the drive-in too late. What about that? I mean, whatever you choose to write about will be entertaining, I’m sure.

  9. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    Thanks, Cassie!! Yea, I’m totally doing that. Hmm….I need a sewing machine. Maybe we should take a little trip to get one.

  10. Richard Muske Says:

    Perfectionism is not great. It is driven by fear. I say, eff fear and just throw what you got out there for the world to see and LIVE LIFE!

  11. Richard Muske Says:

    P.S. I’m wildly excited that this blog is finally up 🙂

  12. Brandy Atkinson Says:

    I don’t know what you’re talking about… you’re an excellent writer! Happy Blogging!

  13. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    Brandy!! It’s been over 10 years since I have seen you. That’s so crazy. Ha!! Thanks for the kind words!! Hopefully I’ll run into you soon!! xoxo!

  14. bookjunkie Says:

    boy i can totally relate….you sure have a great way with words. And your enthusiasm for life is infectious 🙂

Leave a Reply

