Eye Patch & Easter Eggs

In my family, Easter has always been a time of celebration.  I look back to these holidays with a certain fondness.  Although they were all wonderful, the memories are very similar except for one year that sticks out from among the rest. 
The year…..of the eye patch. 
You see, I was misdiagnosed as having a lazy eye and spent a year or so modeling this ever so lovely (but horribly hot and sticky) eye patch.  I remember running through the yard with one eye trying to find as many easter eggs as I could before my little sister.  Notice that she had two perfectly good eyes, for the most part.
 
It would get so hot around that one covered eye!  I would sneak to parts of the yard hidden by my parents (who honestly wouldn’t have cared) to peel back a small piece of the eye patch so that air flow could make it’s way into that hot and sweaty sticker.  Gross, I know!  But come on, I was a kid in an eye patch.  Cut me some slack.  Thankfully, I was soon given permission to ditch that patch.  Horrid, horrid thing.  Oh, but it makes me laugh every time I see it!!
All that to say, Easter really does mean a lot to me.  One, because it’s a time of memories and tradition for my family.  To this day I still get an Easter basket and that…..is awesome.  And two, it’s a time to reflect on the goodness and saving grace of Jesus in my life.  A couple of years ago, I was sitting in my car and got an overwhelming desire to tell the Lord all that I loved about Him.  I think it’s important to remember and meditate on why we love Christ.  I quickly jotted down a  list and have added on things every year.  I would encourage everyone to take a few minutes and dwell on His goodness and record the first thoughts that come to mind.  There are so many beautiful and mysterious things that stir my affections towards Him.  Below are the first things I thought of in a reflective 10 minute period:
I love Him because
He made heaven forever and could have chosen to end it at 500 million years…He created the beginning and the end in which He has neither…He colors the sunsets for His children and also for the lost…because He loves the widow, the orphan, the lonely, the cruel, the terrorist, the priest, the broken, the scared, the sinner, the ones who hate Him and those who are dying for Him…because He created music and beauty…because i mess up everyday and He still gives me chances…because He quiets me with His love and rejoices over me with singing…He guides my path…because He makes time for me…because He is the only one who will ever know the real me, even the dark and cruel side, the face i hide from everybody else, but yet He chooses to love me anyway…He saved me when He could have been better off without me…because He is creative…the inventor of love, laughter, tears, sunshine, children, sound, color…because He allows me the blessing of being labeled His child…He never gives up…is life and also the giver of it…because He hates evil but died to save the wicked…because He gives me the very breath that keeps me living…He chose to give me a wonderful family but is a Father to those without…because He is jealous for my love and attention when He doesn’t really need me…because He made the cala lily and also the mountains…He crafted love and allows me to show it to others…dwells among the homeless and the wealthy…has no favorites…because i would be lost without Him and i know that He refuses to let me go even when i forsake Him…because i am His daughter, His beloved, His chosen, His princess, His servant…because He calls me to worship and grants me peace and joy when i do…because He leads me to pray and stops the world to hear what i have to say…because He makes loving Him a sacrifice so that i will be made more like Him…makes life worth living…because without Him i am nothing and with Him i have everything…because He has changed my life and i will never be the same…because i would give my very life again if He desired because in Him i find the only life worth living.
Happy Easter.
He Is Risen – and THAT is reason
enough for me to live.
Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Eye Patch & Easter Eggs”

  1. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    The cruelties of youth! What a great list, and happy late Easter! Thankfully, it’s never too late to celebrate Him. 🙂

  2. Richard Muske Says:

    I’m going to make a list of things I love about Laura Stephens… and this blog post is going to be at the top.

  3. 79Leslie Says:

    Oh how I love childhood photos from the 80’s, they all look the same! Thanks for helping me to connect with my own childhood Easter memories.

  4. Aimee Bee Says:

    This is a beautiful post. I love God too and this post just made me appreciate Him even more!

    God Bless you! It’s so great to meet other Christians on blogs sharing God’s love with the world!

    Aimee
    x

Leave a Reply

