{Read…read…then read some more}

The failure to read good books both enfeebles the vision
and strengthens our most fatal tendency–
the belief that the here and now is all there is. 
–A. Bloom 

You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture.
Just get people to stop reading them.
–R. Bradbury

The person who deserves most pity is a lonesome one
on a rainy day who doesn’t know how to read.
–Benjamin Franklin

I’ve been labeled a ‘bookworm’ since I was a small child.  I love to read – always have and I always will.  Books are so emotional and beautiful plus full of incredible amounts of knowledge….and for such a cheap price!  My apartment is full of books and void of television.  (I have a television set but no cable and the stations don’t even work.) I hope it’s always that way.  Roald Dahl says it best — “So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall.”  So I did….and the bookcase continues to fill with the most amazing types of literature.  Oh, it makes my heart happy just thinking on it. 

So, I’ve decided to post about books I’ve completed and ones I am in the process of reading.  I shall call it ‘You Should Read This’.  If you have suggestions, I would LOVE to hear them.

Which brings me to book #1:

I first heard of Timothy Keller from Josh White, the pastor of Door of Hope (a church in Portland that stole my heart and opened my eyes to the unconditional love and grace of Jesus.)  Here are a couple of quotes from this book that spoke to my soul in a personal way::

//In the book of Romans, Saint Paul wrote that one of the worst things God can do to someone is to “give them over to the desires of their hearts.”

If anyone puts a child in the place of the true God, it creates an idolatrous love that will smother the child and strangle the relationship.

The most painful times in our lives are times in which our idols are being threatened or removed.

God’s salvation does not come in response to a changed life.  A changed life comes in response to the salvation, offered as a free gift.

To the degree that you grasp the gospel, money will have no dominion over you.

The human heart’s desire for a particular valuable object may be conquered, but its need to have some such object is unconquerable.

When love of one’s people becomes an absolute, it turns into racism.  When love of equality turns into a supreme thing, it can result in hatred and violence toward anyone who has led a privileged life.

We become like what we worship.//

There are so many true statements in this book!  I can’t write them all out because I don’t have time, you should read it for yourself, and it’s probably illegal. 

I’m currently reading Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.  He’s also the author of Everything is Illuminated.  It’s a lovely book!! It’s hard to put down. 

Until next time….
(from a magical night on the Oregon coast – one of my all time favorite moments….ever)

PS – the book picture was found at www.weheartit.com and taken by Aline Smithson photography.

5 Responses to “{Read…read…then read some more}”

  1. Erin Tang Says:

    I have this book. I’m assuming you probably really enjoyed reading page 34…paragraph 2…the last four sentences. HAHAHA

  2. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!!! oh my gosh! I didn’t even think of that!!!!! That was hilarious. Nice work, Tang.

  3. Erin Tang Says:

    Thanks “stunning” starlight!

  4. Erin Tang Says:

    🙂

  5. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    ohemgee. Knock it off. HAHAHA!!!! That really is super funny.

Leave a Reply

