oh yes, it’s happening!

Last September, I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish during my lifetime.  I haven’t even glanced at it…

until now.

From this somewhat small list, I’ve only accomplished one thing.  One.  That’s some pretty shabby work on my part.  I can do much better and so I will.  I’m sharing my little list because I’m determined to put effort into crossing each and every one off.  I love that feeling.  So here it is, a glimpse into the life that I’ll be working towards.  Yea, I’m pretty excited about it.  Here goes nothing, well – it’s a rather huge something to me.

1)  Live in Portland, Oregon.

(image from www.weheartit.com)

(one of my favorite moments w/some of my beautiful Portland friends.  i’m dedicating an entire post to them…later.  i love Portland in a way i can’t describe.  i’ll be there one day – to raise a family, ride bikes, hike mt hood, drink good coffee, be around some of the most inspiring people i know, and more.)

2.  Visit Ireland.  I think there’s magic to be found there.



(images from www.weheartit.com)

3.  Learn to speak Spanish.  So I can communicate with these precious children. 




(i took these two summers ago on a mission trip to Guatemala.  such beautiful orphaned children.   i’m planning to blog more on this trip soon.)

4.  Learn how to longboard.

 
5.  Adopt.  How could I not?
(taken on my trip to Africa.)

6.  Meet Donald Miller.  accomplished – 6/12/09
Regardless of whether or not you agree with Don and his writings, he has always been one of my favorite authors.  I’m a nerd, yes I really am.  Some people aspire to meet movie/pop stars but I would much rather meet somebody that has influenced me with their writings.  Don Miller did just that in Blue Like Jazz (and every other thing he has written since then).

So, I decided to make it a goal of mine to meet him.  Honestly, I thought it would be huge disappointment if we ever met.  I expected him to be awkward and slightly conceited.  (Sorry, Don.)  Yea, I was wrong.  He’s one of the most humble, witty, hilarious and thoughtful people!  TOTALLY not what I expected at all and better than what I had hoped.  He’s a great guy and has become a friend.  I even snuck myself into one of his blog posts.  I’m a sneaky one.  It’s because I’m so small and he puts up with me because I like Portland almost as much as he does. 

7.  Actually read all of the books I own.  I collect books.  They make me weak.
(image from www.weheartit.com)

8.  Learn to play the acoustic guitar.  I’ve started several times but need to stick with it.

9.  Learn to snowboard. 
(image from www.weheartit.com)

10.  Climb a mountain
(taken by me, in Guatemala)

11.  Take a road trip across the western US in an RV.  Stop at Crater Lake.

(images from www.weheartit.com)

12.  Own a 1960’s seamfoam green/teal Ford Bronco (with white leather interior) and a Vespa and while I’m at it….a husky puppy. 
(i found this little beauty on ebay and almoooost bought it but decided not to until i can pay cash for it.  cold hard cash, baby!)

13.  Memorize a book of the Bible.  It’s the most life changing piece of literature in existence.  I want it hidden in my heart…truly.

14.  Go camping.  For real.  I usually…er, always end up in a hotel with AC and a hot shower.

(image from www.weheartit.com)

15.  Write a book.  Because I’ve always wanted to.  Even when I was tiny.  

(me, a dress, some major arm muscles, and dominating at putt putt, and one wild imagination….reading and writing and being all kinds of imaginative from the very start.)

16.  Plant a garden full of flowers, fruit, vegetables, herbs and then learn to cook them.

(iPhone photo from Seattle – Pike’s Market)
(another iPhone pic of Pike’s Market)
(um…yea.  i ::love:: fruit.)

18.  Work at a coffee shop.  Some want to be President or the next Lady Gaga but not me, I’d rather be your friendly neighborhood barista any day.
 (taken on my iPhone at Stumptown Coffee in Portland, OR)

So that’s it!! Not too hard, right?  One down and seventeen to go.  Oh yes, it’s happening. 

–peace in your hood–

13 Responses to “oh yes, it’s happening!”

  1. Rand Says:

    Wow, some pretty fantastic goals!

    Um… Lady Gaga made it into one of your posts Ha!

    You are a pretty awesome blogger! Glad you started blogging!

  2. The Late Stork Says:

    Brilliant idea. I need to get on and do a list myself – then start working through it. I love some of yours!

  3. 79leslie Says:

    Sometimes it scares me how much we have in common. Living in Portland, visiting Ireland, learn to play the guitar, writing a book (which I am currently doing) and even meeting Donald Miller are on my list of things to do! That’s awesome!

    I did accomplish one of my “things I want to do” list earlier this year and got a tattoo! Sometimes you just have to get through one in order to really get started. I look forward to the fun blogs that will follow as you mark things off of your list 🙂

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      That’s so rad! They are great goals to have in common. You should start blogging! And I’d love to know more about your book.

      • 79leslie Says:

        It’s funny you say that…I am actually in the process of setting up a blog! I will have 2…a personal one and one that I will actually use to write the book! I will give you the links once everything is up and running

  4. thismuchblog Says:

    So I lurked a bit of your blog today. I like it. We have a lot of the same goals. We definitely need to hang out when you come to Portland. Have you lived here before?

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      lurk away, my dear. it’s about time you decided we should be friends in real life!

      portland – well that is a weird one to answer. i’ve never lived there but spent months in the NW for work over the past 3 years. i kind of lived there last july – october b/c i was promoting a conference at the rose garden arena in portland. we probably have a few friends in common b/c of my time spent there. i LOVE it there so much! i’m coming for vacation from june 25-july 5 and have nothing planned but playing….a lot. yes, let’s hang out when i’m in town! i would love it!

  5. F.E. Castleberry Says:

    I can help you with #4 🙂

  6. terryellison Says:

    Wow, this is just unbelievable.. You really are a gift to the world you know that? I know you will get to do all of these things in due time. By the way, I wanna meet up at our local coffee shop asap so you can give me some blog tips….You are becoming a master at thiss…….

    Terry

  7. Jesse Phillips Says:

    good goals. Wish I met Donald Miller.

Leave a Reply

