i’ll do what i want – and there’s nothing you can do about it!

I’ve finally realized why I ::love:: blogging so darn much.
Because I can post…

WhAtEvEr I WaNt!
(however I want to do it.)

There aren’t too many places in the world where a person can feel such creative freedom.  I blog by the same rules I follow when decorating my *adorable* apartment or buying *sometimes weird* clothing — I choose what makes me happy.  Simple as that.

This means that I can post a picture of my dream house.  Yep, it’s a tree house (from We Heart It) and I will continue to dream about living in one, until I do.
Or maybe share a picture of the Oregon coast, taken by my friend Drew.  The purpose?  Because I think it’s beautiful.   

I might even share a quote.  Not to show off my massive amounts of knowledge or wit, but simply because they speak to me.

You don’t have a soul.  You are a soul.  You have a body.
–CS Lewis

I like nonsense.  It wakes up the brain cells.
–Dr. Seuss

(taken with my iPhone of my dear friend Laura Elizabeth – in Portland)

eye can uuse hawrible grammer if i want too.

I guess, if I want, I can daydream about future dates that I’ll go on.  xoxo

(We Heart It)

and wish that my hair still looked like this…


Have I talked about my all time favorite promise?  No?  Well, now is as good a time as any.  Rainbows. Talk about being in the right place at the right time. (Charlotte, NC – taken with my lovely iPhone)

I also think it would be wonderful to have this in my living room, regardless of how old I am…
(We Heart It)

I don’t even mind posting unflattering pictures of myself (from my birthday extravaganza last year).   Keep scrolling to find out why I was completely geeking out…


Cupcakes flown in to Austin, TX from my favorite bakery in NYC!  A total surprise.  Thanks again, Katie and Chrissy!  ❤

Yep.  So that is why I like love to blog. 
I hope you have places in your life where you feel absolute freedom to be exactly who you are without the pressure to perform and entertain.  www.sunshineandstarlight.wordpress.com is just one of my many places.

kitten kisses-

(taken in Seattle, WA – by my iPhone and lovely friend Sarah)

note: Again, thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts.  It makes my day a happy one.  You’re the rock to my roll.

11 Responses to “i’ll do what i want – and there’s nothing you can do about it!”

  1. Rebekah Says:

    Love the treehouse. It’s like the Swiss Family Robinson! Did you ever see that movie? The treehouse abode would definitely be a unique addition in Portland, Oregon….actually I’ve never been to Oregon but I’m guessing. 😉

    Also love the quotes, the hair, and the living room blanket hut. Very inspiring. I used to love making the blanket houses. I should totally do it more often.

    I just found your blog a week or so ago when you hit the “freshly pressed” thing on wordpress. I really like it. 🙂

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Swiss Family Robinson – yes!!! That’s probably what started it all for me! Remember when they were riding the ostrich? Hi-larious. And girl, you NEED to visit Portland!! It’s like Narnia!!! Only real. 🙂

      I will admit that I found that cute living room fort on weheartit.com. Talk about an inspirational website.

      I’m so glad you found my blog! Thank you for your kind words of encouragment. I’ll be sure to check yours out as well!! 🙂

  2. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Thank you so much for this post! I love that CS Lewis quote – perfect! Thanks for reminding me that I can post what I want and that I don’t have to censor myself :-}

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Thanks again for the shout out and encouragement. You’re such a sweetheart. CS Lewis blows my mind. What an incredible man?! (wait, was that a question? Eh, who knows?) Have a lovely night!!

  3. Sunshine and Starlight « Each Day Is A Gift Says:

    […] I remembered that rule a few months ago and her post today brought the notion to the forefront, especially where blogging is concerned. Honestly, I’d […]

  4. Brandy Says:

    You are such a GREAT writer! And, I hope you get your treehouse and I’m sure there will be many blanket tents in my near future! I hope that someday (soon) you write that book you talked about in your last post. I will certainly buy it!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Brandy!! I mean can you believe it’s been over 10 years since KHS? You’re a great writer too. Must be that Kilgore education. 😉 I can only imagine the things that will be built and created in your living room. So, so fun. I’m sure you are loving it. When I write that book, I’m calling you for an endorsement. Hehe.

  5. She's Wilde Says:

    I really love your blog, have been following you since your feature on freshly pressed and have read every single one of your posts at least twice! So I figured it was about time I shared that with you. You are seriously my favorite person whom I’ve never met!! You’re so filled with life and spirit, absolutely adorable and beautiful, your posts make me smile so much 😀

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      You are so kind, all the time. I started this blogging adventure about two months ago and it’s been super fun!! We should be friends in real life! Get your self to Texas and we will have a coffee or a cupcake…or both. You, dear, are such an encourager. You made my night. 🙂

  6. Lindsay Says:

    I really really like the different colors in your hair, very pretty!!! and I so wish I had a huge tree house like that, sooo awesome!!!!
    have a great weekend pretty girl!
    xoxo,
    Lindsay

  7. Candy Colored Ponies! « Says:

    […] when I was just a wee one.  My infatuation didn’t stop in my childhood.  In fact, I colored my own hair pink and purple for about a year!  Mega […]

Leave a Reply

