You Should Read This// Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

My television set broke which means even more reading time.  Oh, don’t feel sorry for me.  I’m wondering if I should even replace the thing.  It’s been gone for about two weeks and I haven’t missed its absence at all.  Compare it to that boyfriend/girlfriend that you didn’t really want around but…….ok, I digress.  Back to the book.

If you are one of those people who want a story that fully resolves and that follows your basic book pattern then…this isn’t for you.  However, if your heart stirs from lovely tales woven together by a childs unbelievable imagination then I’d say grab it. Now.  Get it here if you’d like.

This is the (fictional) tale of Oskar Schell as he searches the burroughs of New York City.  He’s looking for something that belonged to his father, who died in the World Trade Center on the morning of September 11.  Oskar warmed my heart and brought me to tears in more than one chapter.  Jonathan Safran Foer, who also wrote Everything is Illuminated, is a fantastic story teller.  I can’t wait to read his other works. 

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:
–Some had fallen asleep, and the park was a mosaic of their dreams.

–Instead she said, ‘I love you.’  The words traveled the yo-yo, the doll, the diary, the necklace, the quilt, the clothesline, the birthday present, the harp, the tea bag, the tennis racket, the hem of the skirt.  “Grody!” The boy covered his can with a lid, removed it from the string, and put her love for him on a shelf in his closet.  Of course, he never could open the can, because then it would lose its contents.  It was enough just to know it was there.

–“Dad had a spirit,” she said, like she was rewinding a bit of our conversation.  I told her, “He had cells, and now they’re on rooftops, and in the river, and in the lungs of millions of people around New York, who breathe him every time they speak!”

–That’s the difference between heaven and hell!  In hell we starve!  In heaven we feed each other!

–she wants to know if I love her, that’s all anyone wants from anyone else, not love itself but the knowledge that love is there.

It’s so good.  Seriously.  Come on, you can trust me.  Ok – back to reading more books!! I just finished House Rules by Jodi Picoult (eh, it was ok) and am trying to finish Follow Me to Freedom: Leading And Following as an Ordinary Radicle by Shane Claiborne (LOVE him) and John Perkins (this book has been mind blowing so far and I cannot wait to finish it). 

Farewell!
(if you’ve ever wondered what I’m doing in my spare time, well…this is it.  reading book after book after book in my cozy little space.)

9 Responses to “You Should Read This// Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”

  1. thismuchblog Says:

    This is one of my favorite books! I like it more that Everything Is Illuminated, which you should also read if you haven’t already.

  2. 79leslie Says:

    I have been in the market for a good summertime read…this might be it! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  3. lunaleska Says:

    awesome blog!!
    Love the suggestion, will definitely read it!!
    Please read and comment on my blog of fav books?
    Keep it up!

  4. Amanda Says:

    Funny, I am just about to write a blog about my life without television. I won’t spoil the reading for later, but I haven’t had one in almost 2 years…and while there are days I miss…mostly…not so much. 🙂

  5. donna norvell Says:

    Hi Laura,

    Love your cozy little spot for reading! I should try not having television on for awhile and maybe I would take the time to read all the great books I have on my shelves. The book you described sounds fascinating and like one I could really get into. Will have to look it up.

    Blessings to you. 🙂

  6. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    I enjoyed that movie quite a bit. This reminds me of how much I need to regain my attention span for reading books. I read a lot, but it’s been technical and art books. Must fix that … I love getting lost to the point where I don’t even see the words. Happy reading!

  7. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Wait, I mean the “Everything is Illuminated” movie … before I look too dumb for too long. ha ha.

  8. Lauren Scruggs Says:

    you are too cute!!

Leave a Reply

