L is for Laura Elizabeth

1: When I was little, I wanted to be a waterfall when I grew up.

(pretty Portland waterfall – one of my favorite spots)

2: Small oddities – one far sighted eye and one near sighted for which I wore an eye patch when I was smaller (try hunting easter eggs in an eye patch!!), I have one and ½ fake teeth and one gold one which I’m especially proud of (I make sure it’s super shiny all the time).

(me and my little sis – many moons ago)

3: I wish I could attend Hogwarts – and die a little every time I realize I never will.

(We Heart It)

4: At one point in my life I was convinced I would marry Jonathan Taylor Thomas – and had over 400 pictures on my walls to prove my devotion.

(Google image)

5: I went skydiving in Austin and landed 6 miles off course in a cow pasture – YOU try dodging livestock with a parachute strapped to your back.

(Google image – I’ll post my skydiving pics later…when I locate them)

6: I schedule regular trips to Urban Outfitters – sole purpose being to soak up the aura of everybody there cooler than me.

(We Heart It)

7: I’ve had an infatuation with Oregon since the 5th grade and feel like my spirit is awakened whenever I am there.

(Google image)

8: Trendy Asians are my favorite.

(We Heart It)

9: I will never ever get burnt out on the #5 eight pack from Chick Fil A. I can’t remember a time where I’ve willingly skipped out on my weekly visit to CFA.

(Google image)

10: I think sports are BORING and my life would remain totally unaffected if I woke up tomorrow and every trace of them disappeared from the earth forever.

(We Heart It)

11: I collect owls– and love that this fact is catching on to people in my life who contribute their wonderful owl finds to my ever growing collection.

(We Heart It picture – but you can find your own adorable little animals from Skunkboy Creatures)

12: I get a natural high from buying books – I justify my need EVERY TIME – then realize once I get home that 65% of the ones I have already STILL haven’t been read.

(We Heart It)

13: I’ll bet every penny in my life savings that I love my family more than any person in the world ever has….my respect for my dad is one of the reasons I’m not married – he’s too tough of an act to follow and I think the love him and my mom have is unrivaled by anybody in the world. My little sis is the funniest most incredible person in my life (and her husband Ricky is the best brother in law I could ask for.)

(the fam at my sister’s wedding!)

(my sister, Erin and her husband, Ricky)

14: I’ve been in a wreck with an ambulance with the lights and siren going and also a mailman just making rounds….both were entirely my fault.

(Google image)

15: I fall in love with places easily and more often than I fall in love with people. (which is one of the millions of reasons I think I have the best job in the world (all the travel).

(We Heart It)

16: I’m convinced that God had a soundtrack when creating the world – and I have a list in my head of the songs I think were on it.

(We Heart It)

17: I once had my palm read by a Hindu man in first class who told me I was destined to be famous but would probably never achieve it, would never be rich, and I had many people in my life who loved and cared for me….I agree with all of the above.

(We Heart It)

18: Chances are if I know you well enough, I’ve matched you to an animal that fits your personality.

(We Heart It)

19: One of my definitions of hell is a world absent of beautiful music.

(We Heart It)

20: I only drive red cars – one of the main reasons I bought Ling Ling (my car) is the shade of red it was available in.

(Google image of my little car)

21: I base most decisions on whether or not I think they will end up making a good story – which is why I have a lot of them (stories, not decisions – well both really).

(We Heart It)

 22: I’m extremely claustrophobic – so bad that last time I was at Disney they had to stop the Nemo ride b/c I had a panic attack when it started – that CRAZY submarine was too much for me.

(Google image of the submarine of death)

23: One of the people who has affected me the most spiritually is a homeless man named George – b/c of him I have a passion for the homeless – b/c of this passion I was able to help at a giant homeless Christmas party a couple of years ago – at the party I was kissed by a homeless man and also proposed to by another (he promised me a ranch in San Antonio and that I would never have to work a day in my life if I said yes).

(Google image)

24: If you offer me your lemon from your water just b/c you feel led to, we will become best friends – this is inevitable – it has happened only 3 times in my life and the theory is 100% true.

(We Heart It)

25: My dad says I was blessed with the happy gene – I’m hardly ever upset and honestly can’t understand people who complain and gripe constantly about life or their situation – so I try to stay as far away from them as possible – they literally drain me.

(Google image)

26: I find it hard to follow rules and guidelines….

(We Heart It)

27: 27 is my favorite number in the whole world – I like the way the numbers look together and it’s been my favorite for as long as I can remember.

(We Heart It)

::The End::
(photo by Daniel Davis)

29 Responses to “L is for Laura Elizabeth”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Every time I read one of your posts I get ridiculously happy for no particular reason! I absolutely love your outlook on life and your positivity! Thank you for allowing us all to be part of your happy, fun life through the interweb!

  2. Jamie Says:

    Oh Laura – reading this makes me even MORE excited to see you this weekend…and I didn’t think that was possible. Love you!!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I used to have to wear an eye patch when I was younger too, my dad use to draw pictures on them. I was sooo embarassed!!!!! I have a lazy eye.. you cant tell physically but my left eye has 120/20 vision >.<

    I use to think I would marry JTT too!!! lol

    You are soooo pretty!!! just throwing that out there!

    Thank you for all the sweet words and support over the last few days, it really means a lot to me!! I hope you have an awesome week!!

    xoxo,
    Lindsay

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Linds –
      My little sister has a lazy eye! I think it’s quite charming actually. 🙂 Oh, those silly eye patches. G-ross.

      And JTT made my heart go pitter patter. Hehe!! So funny!!

      You’re such a sweetheart. Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad we are blog friends!! AND I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR PACKAGE TO GET HERE!!! EEEEE!!!!!!

      xoxo, pretty lady!!

  4. Amanda Says:

    Do you have an animal for me yet? If not, can we spend more time together so you do? 🙂 P.s. this post pretty much made my face hurt from the grinning….I love that kind of “pain”. ha

  5. Sasha Says:

    I loved reading this!

    So glad to have you as a pen pal! I’ll be emailing you soon 🙂

  6. janel Says:

    Oh my goodness you are sooooo cute!!! Seriously I am so excited to have you as a Happy Mail partner this month!! and hopefully for many months to come too 🙂
    xo
    janel

  7. jamie Says:

    I am so in love with this post!!!! I love it! You’re a treasure! So glad we’ve “met”!!!! xoxo

  8. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Thank you for including me on your blog lists! I’ll definitely add you to mine when I update them. (That part of my site is done through a friend, so I have to e-mail her to tell her to do that first.)

    Also, I always offer my lemons to people … I don’t like them, but I don’t want a good lemon to go to waste!

    I’m glad I’m not the only person who is hopelessly happy. ha ha.

  9. lunaleska Says:

    This may sound odd, disturbing or just plain weird, but I just made one of my life goals to try and be a little but more like you!

    Not YOU, you. Just adopt your outlook on life and your total happiness.

    You have inspired me so much with just this one post…

    I know this may also sound odd, but one day I want to use you as a character in my stories… You have the perfect characteristics for making an amazing book!

    =]

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      ha!! You make me laugh. We need to hang out in real life so you can see what a huge disaster I can be. 😉 In fact, that probably should happen one day.

      Thank you so much. You are such a dear.

      Ohh – I would LOVE to be a character in a book! Hehe!! Especially if I can have a pet unicorn!! 🙂

      • lunaleska Says:

        Now that’s an idea for a story…
        i just realized I have a place for you in a book I’m ‘busy’ writing [it’s still in planning and drafts and currently on ice!] it’s about witches… So a pet unicorn would fit right in!!

        Keep smiling 🙂

  10. L is for Laura Elizabeth (via ) « Tiny Island Says:

    […] 1: When I was little, I wanted to be a waterfall when I grew up. (pretty Portland waterfall – one of my favorite spots) 2: Small oddities – one far sighted eye and one near sighted for which I wore an eye patch when I was smaller (try hunting easter eggs in an eye patch!!), I have one and ½ fake teeth and one gold one which I'm especially proud of (I make sure it’s super shiny all the time). (me and my little sis – many moons ago) 3: I wish I cou … Read More […]

  11. bookjunkie Says:

    Just liked and re-blogged you… 🙂 this post is so great that i wanna to share it with everyone Singapore. You are so young, but so inspiring! love love love your owls!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Aw!! Thank you so much!! I’ll be 29 in July, so I’m not too incredibly young. 😉 Hehe! I need to figure out how to do this reblog thing….hmmm. Thanks again for being so kind and encouraging!! It still blows my mind that you’re all the way in Singapore!! How awesome is that?!?!?!

      • bookjunkie Says:

        Laura, you hardly look past 22 to me. Anyway 29 is still a baby to me cos I’m hitting the big 40 this november….. but no worries i still feel twentysomething on the inside 😉

        you’re spreading so much positivity and joy through your blogs 🙂 thank you!

  12. Amanda Estes Says:

    I LOVE your blog and your lists! You are so creative and artsy – I just love it!

  13. Andrea!!! Says:

    Oh goodness – we are a bit a like! I had a friend tell me that when she first met me she thought I was “fake” because I was always happy…then she got to know me and found out that’s just who I am – I LOVE finding other happy positive people 🙂 (and I love your blog too!)

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Thanks, Andrea!! You are too kind. We are doing summer camp together, right?! I may come crying to you if I can’t figure out how to do some of the projects, like crochet! What in the world?!?! Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet words!! 🙂

  14. Nyc Says:

    number 14 just about killed me. what a wonderful little insight into your person. your posts are full of total sunshine and life 🙂

  15. Rebecca Says:

    PS. Which apps do you have on your iPhone that allow you to take such cool pics??

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Thanks!! I love taking pictures with my iPhone! It’s so easy and makes them all look great. I use Hipstamatic and ShakeItPhoto. Another really cool one is QuadCamera. If you find anymore, let me know! 🙂 Thanks!!

  16. smileyeyes Says:

    Love this post! Funny thing… when I was younger I wanted to grow up to be a red sports car (about as impossible as your waterfall… I guess we just were a little confused… but hey, we both love red cars I guess!!)

    And I am pretty sure that Urban Outfitters needed to set up a cot for me in the back… I was there WAY to often the past couple years. It is so great!

    And what every happened to JTT?? Love him!
    -Katie

Leave a Reply

