Painting With a Twisty Twist

(We Heart It)

 “Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints
his own nature into his pictures.”
–Henry Ward Beacher

Guess what I did tonight?  Something totally new!  I believe it’s important to try something you’ve never done before every single day…even if it freaks you out and you think it will be a complete disaster.  At least you tried, right?  And hey, you can always get a good story out of it or some fun pictures. 

My sweet friend Amanda gathered some pretty ladies together and we met up at Painting With A Twist.  Sidenote – Amanda is one of the most encouraging friends I have and yet I hardly ever see her.  She’s a precious soul, indeed.

(Amanda and I – getting our paint on, ya’ll)

So here’s what is so freakin’ fantastic about PWAT (Painting With a Twist – stay with me here.)  You bring your own food and drink, have a private instructor, music, and complete freedom to do whatever you like!! They feature a different painting every few days which allows you to choose exatly what you want to paint.  I’ve never painted ANYTHING before and it was an absolute blast. 

(my iPhone photo)

Here’s what went down to create my very own little birdie painting:

Sketched the design with a pencil.  It helped….and I needed all of that I could get!


And the painting begins!

Now for the tree.  I wanted to make it a cotton candy tree but refrained.  However, next time my tree will be covered in cotton candy blossoms.

Then I had to show my little bird some love.  I named him Twitter, clearly.

Twitter is a huge believer in self expression, so I inked him.  His mother didn’t care at all.

Ta-da!! All of our little birdies were complete. 

It was a fun experience to chat and eat yummy food while painting, painting, painting.  I can’t wait to go back.  They have locations all over the United States so check them out and plan your own party. 

Twitter is now happy as can be and singing away in my little apartment.  He certainly adds a little song to the place.  Have a lovely evening.  Guess what?  Another weekend starts tomorrow!! Hip hip…..HOORAY!!

–laura elizabeth

15 Responses to “Painting With a Twisty Twist”

  1. janel Says:

    Your painting is amazing!! What a neat place 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!
    xo
    janel

  2. Amanda Says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE! When my worlds get to collide! Every friend there was from a different yet similar time period….this night brought me so much stinking joy! I adore you Laura and am so glad God said “Let them be friends” and then saw that it was good! 🙂

  3. donna norvell Says:

    Love your Twitter! You did a great job and I am proud of you. I will have to see if we have these places in Oregon as it would be so much fun. Thanks for sharing.

    love and prayers,

    donna 🙂 Prov. 3;5-6

  4. Rand Says:

    Twitter has a Tattoo!!!! I love that!

  5. bookjunkie Says:

    I loved that you inked your bird with a heart…that’s so you 🙂 you’ve inspired me to try and do something new

  6. Jamie H. Says:

    That looks like sooo much fun!!! I love your painting!!!! The “ink” just makes it even more awesome. 😉 Awesome job!!!

  7. Lindsay Says:

    wow the first time painting??? Your a natural!!!!! I love it!! I wish we had something fun like that here!!! Hope you have a great weekend!
    xoxo,
    Lindsay

  8. sandra Says:

    where did you do this?

Leave a Reply

