I Have a Crush on Roald Dahl <3

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” 
–Roald Dahl

I ::love:: books in an incredible way.  I especially love the ones that inspire you to dream and take your imagination to a different level.  Yes, I’m a dreamer and I still believe in magic.  I hope to own the entire Roald Dahl collection one day.  Here are some of my favorites, and probably some of yours as well:


“A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by the wisest men.”
–Roald Dahl (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory)

“We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams.”
–Roald Dahl

“The witching hour, somebody had once whispered to her, was a special moment in the middle of the night when every child and every grown-up was in a deep deep sleep, and all the dark things came out from hiding and had the world all to themselves.”
–Roald Dahl (The BFG)
“Matilda said, “Never do anything by halves if you want to get away with it. Be outrageous. Go the whole hog. Make sure everything you do is so completely crazy it’s unbelievable…”
–Roald Dahl (Matilda)

“If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face. And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week, every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until you can hardly bear to look at it.
A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts it will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”
–Roald Dahl (The Twits)
“my darling,” she said at last,
are you sure you don’t mind being a mouse for the rest of your life?”
I don’t mind at all” I said.
It dosen’t matter who you are or what you look like se long as
somebody loves you.”
–Roald Dahl (The Witches)
“My dear young fellow,’ the Old-Green-Grasshopper said gently, ‘there are a whole lot of things in this world of ours you haven’t started wondering about yet.”
–Roald Dahl (James and the Giant Peach)

“I therefore invite you all,” Mr Fox went on, ‘to stay here with me for ever.’
For ever!’ they cried. ‘My goodness! How marvellous!’ And Rabbit said to Mrs Rabbit, ‘My dear, just think! We’re never going to be shot again in our lives!’
We will make,’ said Mr Fox, ‘a little underground village, with streets and houses on each side – seperate houses for Badgers and Moles and Rabbits and Weasels and Foxes. And every day I will go shopping for you all. And every day we will eat like kings.’
The cheering that followed this speech went on for many minutes.”
–Roald Dahl (Fantastic Mr. Fox)

(We Heart It)

A genuine love affair of reading is one of the most important traits a person can grow up with.  I’m with Mr. Dahl on this one, mainly because he helped foster mine. 

“The prime function of the children’s book writer is to write a book that is so absorbing, exciting, funny, fast and beautiful that the child will fall in love with it. And that first love affair between the young child and the young book will lead hopefully to other loves for other books and when that happens the battle is probably won. The child will have found a crock of gold. He will also have gained something that will help to carry him most marvelously through the tangles of his later years.”
–Roald Dahl

And of course, you must see one of my all time favorite scenes from Matilda.  These stories make wonderful movies, don’t they?

Farewell!!

19 Responses to “I Have a Crush on Roald Dahl <3”

  1. Amanda Estes Says:

    I love Matilda! I remember reading it and getting so excited when they made it into a movie 🙂

  2. bookjunkie Says:

    It’s time to re-read my box set and re-enter childhood 🙂 thanks for the reminder!!

  3. smileyeyes Says:

    Witches is my favorite…. probably because of the movie… but still! PS your card is being sent tomorrow!! Get excited!!!

  4. Juliana Says:

    I sooooo love Dahl! Thanks for the reminder!!!
    And Btw, I adore your blog, so inspiring!!!
    Greetings from windy and cloudy Buenos Aires!
    Jules

  5. Anonymous Says:

    he is great! i LOVE the way he creates all of books!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    i love the BFG!!

  7. Anonymous Says:

    its very nice……….

  8. Arash Says:

    It makes me so happy when I see there are other people who
    they can appreciate the beauty and pure imagination that there
    exist in dear roald books. This man shaped a great part of my
    opinion to life, as much that I can call him as my second father.
    Seeing someone like you was a grate pleasure for me, for me who is
    surrounded by people who don’t know what is like to live in your
    dreams.

  9. Lisa Says:

    I`m from Norway.
    Love him ❤ ❤

  10. Teng Says:

    I’m Teng from the Philippines.
    I just bought a DVD of James and the Giant Peach, one of my favorite animated movies.
    Then I started to read the back of it and was blow-away.
    I just notice that the movies and animations that I’ve grown to love have some similarities. It seems they were done by the same group of people which collaborate with one another at some point or another namely:

    – Tim Burton – Henry Selick
    – Roald Dahl – Niel Gainman

    Amazing! Now I see a pattern, and my love for animation, the twisted and eccentric views, have been created by the same people.
    This is the first time I search Roald Dahl in the net, and low and behold, I know and heard about the books the he wrote.
    Thanks for your site, this makes me want to go on a bookstore and try to buy a set of his books.
    I would like to impart the love of books and animation to my Son.
    Hope by reading it would also inspire him to dream.

    i’m gone to think of my love to the twisted but

  11. diana david Says:

    matilda is the best book i have ever read.

  12. Anonymous Says:

    i relly like your awsome books they are so incredibol

  13. isabelle Says:

    I love all Roald Dahl books, and have read them all! ❤

  14. Anonymous Says:

    I can tell I would like the Charlie and the chocolate factory

  15. student Says:

    i’m reading the twits and so far so good it’s funny and about a hairy pranky couple

  16. sharabi ellis 9 Says:

    i love carlie and the choclate factory i finished it, it was perfet. im working on the bfg to day at school please make more books you are awsome

  17. Rafi Says:

    I love them too. I red ‘Charlie and the great glass elevator’, ‘Fantastic Mr Fox’ and ‘James and the giant peach’. Witch one you recomend me next?

Leave a Reply

