Bye Bye Pesky Perfectionism

First of all, I’ve been blogging for 2 1/2 months now!! It didn’t take long for this little blog and I to fall in love.  It’s amazing what having a blog can teach you – time management (hey these posts don’t happen on their own), how to unlock your creative potential, that there are lots of wonderful friends waiting to be made, and even not worrying so much about what everybody else thinks. 

I’ve struggled with upholding this ‘I can do anything’ image for about 28 years (which happens to be how many years I’ve been alive).  For months, I didn’t even want to create a blog because I was so focused on how it would be perfect.  Silly me.  I’ve been learning to cut loose a little and try new things, even if I’m 110% certain that I’m HORRIBLE at them!! It’s worth a shot, eh?  Doing things with excellence and to the best of your ability is always good – this isn’t what I’m talking about.  I’m describing the perfectionism that leaves you paralyzed and unable to move for fear you won’t excel. 

So, I signed up for RVA Summer Camp and just completed my very first project last night – a super adorable journal of my very own.  It took about two hours because I had no clue what I was doing.  I was one proud little girl when I stepped away from the scissors, glue, tape runner, scrap paper, and saw this:

Then, I decided to take the 30 Day Journal Challenge and THAT has been exactly what it’s named…..a challenge.  I am HORRIBLE at drawing things and that just happens to be what this 30 days is full of….doodling, drawing, coloring, creating.  These are not strengths of mine at all. (No, I’m dead serious.  I’m about to show you what I’ve created so far and you will agree.)  All that to say, it’s so much fun and I’m starting to feel less and less insecure about my total loss for drawing/artistic skillz.  Here are my first two journal pages.

Day 1:: Introduce yourself and cover the entire page.  I tried to use the owl and shroom pepper shaker to take your eyes off the scribbles. *smile*


Day 2:: What is the best part of your day?

So there you have it.  I’m pretty good at a lot of things and also pretty awful at a lot of things.  I just don’t want to be afraid to try things I’m not naturally good at.  Where’s the fun in that?  It’s pretty boring really.  So here’s to not being perfect!!  You only live once, right?  I’m going to try something new every week, even if I totally bomb at it. 

Thanks for reading!! Have a fantastically beautiful evening.
(Daniel Davis Photography)

14 Responses to “Bye Bye Pesky Perfectionism”

  1. Brandy Says:

    I’m not doing the 30-day journal challenge, but I wanted to. I’m doing good to just blog regularly these days! But, I’m so excited to read about your challenge. You are extremely artist and creative, so YOU GO GIRL!

  2. Brandy Says:

    Yes ma’am we should. I work in Dallas, so a lunch/early dinner date wouldn’t be too difficult. My mom did look really good in those pics. I hope I got her genes. Ha. I’m going to try your smoothie, BTW. HA. Let me know when is a good time for you to get together. I’m usually off by 4. PS. I will never forget Disciple Now at your house. Maybe 8th grade? HAHA!

    Ok, I tried to email this little comment to you, but your email comes up as “no-reply to blogger @ blogger.com” so you really need to fix that! If you need help to remedy that, I can help. Hope you’re doing good. I’ll talk to you soon.

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Well, drat. I have NO idea how to fix that. My email is laura.elizabeth.stephens@gmail.com if you need it. 🙂 The smoothie is pretty good – a little crazy with the ingredients but it helps your system in all sorts of ways. HA!! D NOW!!! My how times have changed. Let’s try and get together next week!! I’m headed to Portland on Friday night but I’m free all week!! Can’t wait! 🙂

  3. lunaleska Says:

    Hey Laura!!
    Your journal entries looks so much better than mine! You are creative!!!
    Goodluck with the rest of the challenge!!
    Xo

  4. Colleen Says:

    I think the journal is fantastic!!! I’m doing the same 30 day challange and only just completed day 1, I’m already behind! LOL
    I struggle with the same issues it seems. It is hard to have something in my head and it does not AT ALL look like what I made…LOL. Therefore, I too, get stuck not trying anything for fear that I will just make myself nuts…So GOOD FOR YOU! It seems you are well on your creative way! I think your journal pages are awesome!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Thanks, Colleen!!! You’re so great. I do that too!! How in the world can I make this thing look as awesome as it looks in my head?! 🙂 Are you going to post your pages? I can’t wait to see them.

  5. Amanda Says:

    I am so proud of you! Your little journal is absolutely fantastic! Much more creative than mine is, but not really. Yours is a reflection of “Laura” and mine is a reflection of “Amanda”. I am learning that it is ok to be different! 🙂 Don’t you love all the things God teaches us along the way! 🙂
    AW

  6. Lindsay Says:

    wow your pages are beautiful!!!!! I love you blog book too!!! so pretty! I want to make one, Ill have to look up a tutorial, I absolutely love pretty patterened pages!!
    xoxo,
    Lindsay

  7. CHRISTIN Says:

    CHECK! im so so excited… thx for letting me know… now time to get started and caught up! 🙂

  8. Claire Says:

    i love that fabric on the cover! Visiting from RVA Camp 🙂

  9. bookjunkie Says:

    your journal is so lovely just like you!! 🙂 thanks for blogging about perfectionism, and how it gets us stuck sometimes…..i have that problem too and am now throwing caution to the wind and trying to live in a fuller way 🙂

Leave a Reply

