Why I’m Still Single…

On Saturday, I helped Daniel shoot a beautiful wedding. 

I took a few iPhone photos of D doing his thing.  You can’t help but think about love and marriage and commitment when immersed in weddingly bliss for nine hours.

Lately, it seems more and more people keep asking why I’m not married yet.  I’ll be 29 in eighteen days and apparently I should be worried about being nearly 30 and still single.  But…I’m not at all.  There are so many reasons why I’m content with my life even if a husband isn’t in the picture.  Maybe I’ll explain this mindset in detail later on.  But for now, I want to share the wedding vows written by my sweet friend Bailey, in Portland. 

I love you.
And I will continue to love you.
Because He loved us first.

I don’t just love you,
Because our word love has been abused and it has been torn
In Hebrew I would say Raya
You are my companion
I know your good and I know your bad
Raya is the moment when I see your baggage
When I see your stains
And I choose to stay, because of Raya
In Hebrew Raya breathes into Ahava
There is no place that I would rather be
Than right here
Right now
With you
Not cliché or over-romantic.
Not standing at a viewpoint
Not kissing you in the rain
Not dancing or singing
Not watching a sunset
Ahava
Is when we are poor
When there are tears
When you yell
When I scream
When you’re sick
When you’re well
When we walk
When we run
When we are together
When we are apart
When you hurt me
When you pick me up
When I push you down
When we live
And when we die
Ahava is stronger than death
Many waters cannot quench it
Nor will rivers overflow it
You are who I want to struggle with
Through the painful realities of reality
Each and every day
And I will not let you go
Because I Ahava you
In Hebrew Raya breathes into Ahava which brings forth Dode
And Dode is something well beyond our bodies
It is the mingling of our souls
I know you with no body on
Because I am not here to purely touch your body
But to connect with your soul

For we are two different people
With many differences but you have something to teach
and I have something to learn
I have something to give
And you have something to receive
then through the days
This is how we will become one
Christ’s home is in you
And it is in me as well
I see him in you
And you see him in me
He makes us one

I love you.
But more than love you,
I Raya you, I know you
I Ahava you, I will stay with you
I Dode you, I feel your soul

The word love does not capture my commitment to you.
But with all these parts of love in place I can promise you
That I will be devoted to you as the church is to Christ.
Making my days first devoted to being in His presence,
So the fruits of my devotion can be poured onto you.

I love you.
And I will continue to love you.
Because He loved us first.

(the pretty couple)

I’m content because I haven’t felt the way they have.  I’m content because there is more to life than being married.  I’m content because there’s a lot of living left to do and time goes by so quickly.  And I’m content because I’m not ready for marriage…simple as that.  Will I ever be?  Possibly.  But if not, I’m content knowing God knew my life would be ok without it.  Maybe even great, and so far it has been.

22 Responses to “Why I’m Still Single…”

  1. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Amen 🙂

    (30 and single right here … and just fine with it!)

  2. donna norvell Says:

    Thanks, Laura, for sharing your thoughts and for this very special wedding vow from your friend. It is the most beautiful I have ever seen.

    It is so refreshing to see a young woman like you have such a contentment in life with Jesus and the life He has given to you. You are pretty remarkable my friend.

    I know that if God has marriage in mind for you that He is preparing your husband right now and he will be just right for you and if not, you will continue to be a joy to others and to the Lord.

    Thanks for sharing your heart with all of us. You are in my prayers.

    Love ya much. donna 🙂 Prov. 3:5-6

  3. 79leslie Says:

    Beautifully said, my dear!

  4. nyc Says:

    I toootally understand. It gets even worse when the majority of people I grew up with got married before the age of 25… my closest friends are married and some have children…and all of my immediate female cousins are married (even those younger). Im not particularly stressed. I live a great life and have a puppy who keeps me company. I also tell people, if I were in a serious relationship or married, I wouldnt have been able to just jump up and move like I did.

    Do I sometimes wish I had someone to share life with, yes…but dont we all? Its a natural desire. At my little cousins rehearsal dinner I had a similar experience to you and those vows. While I believe my heart is become more open, there has yet to be anyone that is a true compliment and makes me feel that way.

    I trust God’s got it all taken care of. He always comes through and knows the desires of our heart. Cheers to us, sunshine 🙂

  5. Molly Says:

    LAURA! Yes, wait until that one and only is sent your way. To be married once to the right person, is way better than being married 3x searching — all while just wanting to be married.

    I mean, I am on husband #4 and I still don’t know if my one and only is out there. But the good thing is, I have 5 different baby daddys paying me child support so I don’t hurt. meh.

    🙂 i really need to get some sleep. love you bug!

  6. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Oh…my stars. Those vows are gorgeous and wow. I have no words.

    I hear you on the marriage bit. I want what God has for me, and nothing {or noone} else. If I marry {again}, then yay! But if not, then I’m content. I’ve gotten so used to being single that I don’t mind going to weddings and I think it’s totally awesome to see God in the middle of a marriage.

    Thank you so much for posting this. I’ll be 30 in a few months and it doesn’t bother me that I’m not married. Not at all.People expect me to be looking around for potential dates…but I really don’t care. LOL.

  7. Tyler Says:

    So nicely put…

  8. Glass*Plant Says:

    Beautiful.

  9. Tigpan Says:

    Perfect.

  10. Kyle Reed Says:

    As I first read I couldn’t help but think the same thing, but then after I read the end part, the part where you said that you haven’t felt that way yet I totally understand. I myself have not felt that yet and that is probably why I am not married.
    Glad you are more concerned with finding love then letting others tell you that you need to be in love.

  11. Jamie (inspired mess) Says:

    This is soooo incredibly beautiful!
    Just like you!
    xoxo

  12. Samantha Says:

    I really needed this.. and here I am stumbling across your blog for the very first time. Thank you! God is good all the time and I am totally content with where I am right now.. growing in Christ.

  13. CHRISTIN Says:

    beautiful words… im stealing them and posting them on my blog someday so i wont lose them! this was great… and psss… i go through the same “single” type questions too. im happy… its more in His timing than it is in mine. 🙂

  14. Colleen Says:

    This is possibly the most beautiful thing I have ever read. Thanks for your always inspirational blog posts, and congratulations on soon becoming an aunt!

Leave a Reply

