Taco Salad with Honey Lime Dressing//Baked Bree

Today was the day I began my weekly attempt at cooking.  Now, let’s remember that I don’t make things…hardly ever.  This is why I started out with something easy, yummy, and delicious! This recipe is from Baked Bree, an adorable cooking blog.  I get an email from her every day with a new yummy treat and great pictures.  Subscribe now!  You totally should.  I love it because her recipes are easy enough for people like me and delicious enough for the foodies out there. 

So here goes:

(iPhone photo)

Honey Lime Dressing:

*1/4 cup honey
juice of 3 limes (I only used 2)
2 Tablespoons white vinegar
1 Tablespoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/3 cup olive oil

*of course (blast!), I didn’t have honey at my house so I improvised with this! The honey packet on the side of my greek yogurt.   Guess what?  It totally worked. 

(iPhone photo)

Put everything into a bowl, except the olive oil, and whisk that baby until it’s pretty and smooth.  After these have been whisked, pour the olive oil slowly into the bowl and whisk until smooth.  You should taste it now because it’s yummy!

(iPhone photo w/a cameo from my vintage mushroom salt & pepper shakers)

Now for the good stuff!

(iPhone photo)

For the salad:

1 head of lettuce (I used a few cups of pre-packaged organic baby lettuce instead)
3 green onions, cut up
1 red bell pepper, diced
half of a red onion (I left this off because well, I was tired of cutting things and wanted to eat faster)
2 ears grilled corn (I used 1/2 can of corn, rinsed and drained)
half of a bunch of cilantro (I skipped this too, ew)
tomatoes
1/2 sliced avacado (I added this, mmmm yummy)
grilled chicken, seasoned to taste
1/2 cup shredded cheese
tortilla chips, crushed (I didn’t use these either)
black beans – find Bree’s yummy and quick bean recipe here

Put everything but the chips and black beans into a bowl.

(iPhone photo)

Struggle with the avacado.  How does one prepare these things?

(iPhone photo of me making a disaster from this poor avacado)

Toss the salad.  Add the dressing, little by little.

(iPhone photo)

Then add the beans on top (and chips, if you’re into that sort of thing).

(iPhone photo)

Eat up, buttercup!  This salad is one tasty creation.  I was pleasantly surprised and ate an entire mixing bowl myself.  I’ll share next time.  I hope your Sunday is just swell!! I’m going to attempt Mango Sticky Rice next.  Mainly because I can’t stop thinking about it.  Hooray for food!! It’s truly one of my favorite things.

17 Responses to “Taco Salad with Honey Lime Dressing//Baked Bree”

  1. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    That looks great! Good work with your substitution, too. Also, for future reference, avocados will slide out of their peel pretty easily at a point, or can be scooped out with a big spoon. Just cut it in half with a big knife by holding it in your hand (carefully! And maybe with a towel in your hand for protection), running it around the seed and then pulling it in two. You can get the seed out by popping the knife blade against the seed, which should cut into it, then twisting the blade with the seed stuck on it. It’ll pop right out, as long as you don’t go samurai on it and hack it through to your hand! ha ha.

    That might have been too much description for avocados, but they deserve it!

  2. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Oh! I somehow left out the first part of the cut: You push the point into the avocado and then pull the blade around the seed … if that makes more sense.

  3. donna norvell Says:

    Hi Laura – You always bring a big smile to my face when I read your latest adventure! This one sounds like one I would like and may even try it. Just love all your little “quips” etc. about what you are doing and the pictures are great! 🙂

    I began working on your box of goodies today so hope to get it mailed early this week if all goes well. It is designed specifically for you my friend.

    I am off to the pool to get a bit of sunshine and study for my Proverbs class on Wednesday night. Have been leading a group of women all summer and it has been so special. Have a blessed day in the Lord and I can’t wait for how you will prepare Mango Sticky Rice! 🙂

    Love ya much 🙂 Eph. 3:20

  4. Anonymous Says:

    WOW! That sounds delicious! Follow Jamie’s instructions for the avocado….. works like a charm.

  5. Erin Tang Says:

    I want some!!

  6. bookjunkie Says:

    Love your photos…they have a lovely vintage quality about them 🙂

  7. Jamie (inspired mess) Says:

    Yum! This sounds delicious!!!!! I’m working on something to send you (for a belated birthday) to help you on your cooking journey! hehehe 😉
    Did I email you this weekend? I meant to but can’t remember if I did or not.
    Happy Monday to you!!!! xoxo

  8. the littlest polly Says:

    do you have a button? I’d love to add it! maybe then you could add mine, too! 🙂

    thanks so much for the comment! I want to spin around the world with it, too! :):)

    thanks so much for stopping by! Don’t forget to enter my giveaway before it’s too late!

    love, polly

  9. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Mmmmm! That looks awesome :-} I’m proud of you for trying new things. You go, girl!

  10. thoughtsappear Says:

    This sounds good. I love Taco Salad!

  11. Cheray Says:

    Looks delicious Hun 🙂
    Your vintage salt & pepper shakers are the cutest xxx

Leave a Reply

