4 Simple Goals ~ Flannigan Style

4 simple goals
{A Beautiful Mess}

I’m sure everybody knows that I have a blog crush on the adorable and ever so stylish Elsie Flannigan.  Check out her blog here and also her online shop of beautiful handmade and vintage things here.  She has started a little project that simply consists of making four goals for yourself to complete before 2011.  Not too complicated, right?  I’m all about crossing things off of a list so here goes….

1) Paint my living room and dining room.  I’ve wanted to do this forever but kept putting it off because I have no clue where I’ll end up living months from now.  However, I want my cute little place to be Laura-esque so I’m painting…dangit.

2) Stick with pilates or some form of excercise.  I don’t work out…ever.  I rely on my good genetics and tiny frame to get me by and that’s probably not the brightest thing I’ve ever done.  Especially because working out was the only thing my physician asked me to do after my last physical.  Fine, you win Doc.

3) Budget.  Simple as that.  I don’t need half the things I think I do and my sweet friend Alisha made a perfectly good budget for me that’s just dying to be used.

4) Make a meal from scratch at least once a week.  I’m already attempting this one and enjoy it so much that I want to stick with it.  Plus, shopping for local and organic groceries is just too fun. 

I think you should make a list too.  You’ve got nothing to lose!
{We Heart It}

19 Responses to “4 Simple Goals ~ Flannigan Style”

  1. Donna Norvell Says:

    Love your goal setting ideas Laura! I really need to do the same in this season of my life so I can accomplish much more than I am doing. Studying the Book of Proverbs the past few months has really challenged me to be more disciplined in my life, even though it is not easy for me.

    Have a great time in Omaha. I am praying as the conferences get started for this fall. Looking forward to Portland and then Nashville in February!

    Blessings and much love.

    donna 🙂 Prov. 3:5-6

  2. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Good thinking! I’m going to have to write mine down. I’ve been thinking about things I want to accomplish by 35, also. hmm.

    Also, paint your living room! I have a bad habit of not decorating or doing other things like that because I’m never quite sure how long I’ll be somewhere, and all it ever does is contribute to me not feeling settled in. Definitely don’t let the threat of moving stop you from doing something fun that will make you feel like your space is really yours.

  3. Laura Wynn Says:

    Oh my! I’m so glad I found your blog via the Simple Goals! I’m doing it too, and I love, love yours! I highly recommend Pilates, I always feel sooo relaxed after doing them 🙂 Good luck!

  4. Alice Says:

    I’ll be moving in the next few months, so I know I’ll be doing lots of painting in my new place, and your last three goals could all be on my list too.

    I love that you say you have a blog crush on Elsie, I so do too 🙂

  5. twinklyspangle Says:

    Lovely goals 🙂

    I should defintely have put the budget thing in with my four simple goals, I’m the worst for randomly spending money on crazy things that I don’t need. I’ll see how I get on with mine and then maybe do some more!

    Best luck ♥

  6. Caroline's Cake Company Says:

    I’m loving reading everyone’s goals! Good luck with yours. Can’t wait to see your painted living and dining room. We went for a dark red in our living room, some people questioned our decision but it’s such a bright room it can take it and it’s such a warm colour you feel like the room is giving you a hug….

  7. Kim Says:

    Great list! can’t wait to hear what color you use! thanks for visiting & commenting on mine!

  8. Cheray Says:

    Yay! 🙂
    Just about to write out my goal list too! 🙂
    I love seeing everything you’ve been cooking(*coughs*butterbeer*coughs*) 🙂
    and what colour are you thinking of painting your place?
    We’re not allowed to paint ours 😦 Silly renting rules over here (even though the walls are cracking and paint peeling, but hey! What can you do…)
    Big loves xxx

  9. Lumina Says:

    Hi, i like you goals so much, specially the no. 2, i should do something like that too 🙂

  10. the littlest polly Says:

    thanks SO much for adding my button!!!! :):)

  11. Mandy Says:

    Good luck with your goals! I have a hard time painting and decorating too~ my problem is that I just can’t commit to one thing so I end up with blank walls that drive me crazy! Love your other goals as well~ I’ll check back to see how you’re keeping them. =) You have a lovely blog!

  12. bookjunkie Says:

    Thanks for reminding me I need to make it list. It sure helps keep me focused as my mind drifts away all the time 🙂

  13. sunshineandstarlight Says:

    Thanks for the sweet words, guys!!!

  14. Glass*Plant Says:

    Great list! I am already trying to do one new recipe a week. Its both challenging and rewarding 😀 Love that photo you posted. So inspiring. I love it. Just posted my list today. Good luck!

  15. Christmas Festivities + Goals Met = Weekend « Says:

    […] a good feeling meeting goals you’ve set for yourself.  I shall do it more […]

Leave a Reply

