Discovering Dallas….finally

{We Heart It}

I’ve lived in Dallas, TX (well….Plano if you want to get technical) for the past five years or so. However, I have no clue what there is to to around here. I guess you could say I’m slightly a Dallas hater. The average DFW lifestyle hasn’t really appealed to me with it’s tanning beds and obsession with bigger and better. Plus, I spend so much of my time visiting other amazing cities in the US with great culture and artistic expression. Dallas, in my opinion, has always been lacking but my job, great friends, and wonderful church make up for it.

Lately I’ve had to accept that I’m going to be living here for a while so I’ve decided to stop the hate and begin searching for parts of Dallas that inspire me….restaurants, local places, entertainment, thrift stores, vintage finds, music venues, record stores, bakeries, coffee shops, all of it. I know that I can’t do this alone because I have no clue where to begin! This is where my fellow blog friend Christin comes into the picture. I’ve enlisted her in my challenge to find all things hip and with it in Dallas. She’s pretty much the cutest thing ever and next week we will begin our search for all things awesome in the Dallas area. Not only will we search high and low but we will also photograph and blog about our findings. Yea, I’m pretty stoked about it. Make sure you check out The Dallas Socials website for tons of good information and great deals happening every day around DFW. There’s also the fine people at Etsy Dallas and their blog. I’m planning on using these sites to help find a lot of places.

Have any suggestions of where to begin? I’ll write a special blog post every Wednesday with new and inspiring places. Come on, Dallas! Prove me wrong. I dare you.

{We Heart It}

10 Responses to “Discovering Dallas….finally”

  1. Tigpan Says:

    I LOVE it! and I’d love to join you in your adventures if you’ll let me. There is this list of free things to do in Dallas…that I’ve always wanted to tackle….and do a photog tour of.
    I say however that we start in Oak Cliff! 🙂

  2. Maryam Says:

    Oooh, if you head down to East Dallas/Oak Cliff let me know so I can tag along too!

    I can’t rememeber what all I suggested to you, but here’s a little list

    We Are 1976 on Henderson (really awesome Japanese-y toys and stationary and all around cool stuff…and right next to the Pearl Cup coffee shop)

    Lula B’s Antique Mall on Main St. which is chock-full of cool vintage finds

    Dolly Python for more awesome vintage finds

    the giant Half Price Books on NW Hwy is my favorite place to hang out and read

    Make studio in the Bishop Arts district of Oak Cliff (also the Soda Gallery and lots of other leetle shops and yummy restaurants)

    I’ll try to think of more to suggest 😀

  3. Erin Tang Says:

    You need to go to Murray Street Coffee Shop on Murray Street. Just google it! Or just take me next time I visit! Well…after the baby!

  4. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Oh yeah! Murray Street Coffee … I’ve been there. It’s pretty cool. I took some pictures around there a couple of years ago, too. Looks really cool, and I liked the vegetarian something or other sandwich. I know, totally helpful! heh.

    There’s this other coffee shop I thought was cool, but I can’t remember the name of it for my life. Fortunately, I’m pretty sure you’ve mentioned going there before.

    Also, I love almost every Half Price books I’ve been to.

    I feel pretty much the same about Dallas (especially with all the snobs and snobby hipsters). I’ve had a few opportunities to live there, but have never been drawn to it enough to put up with the awful traffic and other negatives. However, I’m sure it’s full of enough good things that I’m sure you could find plenty to do! So good luck!

  5. christy Says:

    You must must must hit the bishop arts district. Just south of Dallas, the area has an eclectic artsy personality and has everything from tiny local art and an old style soda shop to fabulous cuisine at Tillman’s Roadhouse (my personal favorite)… More on their fine fare is here http://www.bishopartsdistrict.com

Leave a Reply

