Cooking with Chicken…..delish!

People have been telling me to check out The Pioneer Woman’s blog for a looooong long time.  I’m a bit hard headed when it comes to those things but last week I finally took a peek.  She’s so rad and hilarious! Yea, yea, yea – I know you’ve known about her forever but remember I’m still pretty new in the blogging and cooking universe. 

Anyways, in my search for a new weekly recipe I ran across this one for Chicken with Olives (don’t let the name freak you out!)  You can find the recipe here.  I only had a few mishaps but after a couple of hours (I’m super slow when I cook) I had prepared a super delicious meal for myself. 

The recipe called for lots of veggies and garlic which means it’s going to be goooooooood.  My favorite part was squeezing the canned tomatoes into the sink to get rid of the juicy juice.  Yea, I know that’s probably weird but it was fun and messy.

Plus, the smell of everything thrown together on the stove was nothing short of divine. 

Awww, chicken.  My all time favorite food in the entire world.  Here’s about where the mishap happened.  At first, you combine all the yumminess into a pan on the stove then you cover and transfer the entire pan into the oven for about 45 minutes.  Yea, I had no idea that all pans weren’t oven ready.  I mean, hello?! All kitchen things should be ok to use in the oven AND on the stove!! Good grief, how am I even supposed to know to check for that?!  I’m no expert in kitchen accessories.  Anyways, you know where this is going.  The smell of burnt rubber about knocked me over when I glanced in the oven but I caught it quickly enough to save my yummy chicken dish. 

See? Safe and sound.  However, next time I will only use 1/2 of the olives called for.  It can be a bit overpowering but the meal is still tasty as can be.  The best part?  I ate some for lunch the next day and it was even better than before!! Usually reheated chicken makes me want to yack but this was oh so yummy. 

Enjoy! This cooking thing keeps getting better.  Maybe I’ll strive for twice a week soon. *smile*

4 Responses to “Cooking with Chicken…..delish!”

  1. Daddy Says:

    Wow Laura that all looks so good
    You have the gift of COOK
    Just did not realize you have this ability

    I have the gift to eat

  2. Minda Says:

    found your blog- and last week I cooked her Lemon Chicken Pasta dish. HOLY MOTHER it was amazing. 🙂 Anything i’ve found on her site so far is a winner.

  3. gina Says:

    that dish looks so yummy!!!

    I finally have blogged–:D go me!!! checking out your blog.

    just wanted to stop by and say hello to my happy mail partner for Sept!!!!

Leave a Reply

