Sushi Ninjas

Nicole and I decided to get a little adventurous with the cooking so we went with sushi.  It was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be.  To see the recipe we used, click here.  Of course, no sushi making is complete without a karate kid headband.  I’m calling mine a ninja warrior headband because that’s what I was all day…a ninja warrior.

We didn’t use any raw ingredients this time and made a California Roll and a Candy Roll.  I know it’s considered ‘fake’ sushi if it isn’t completely raw but it’s so darn tasty!  Here are some of the ingredients we used:

I’ll admit that shopping for these items was pretty fun.  The whole process took about an hour and the rice cooking took the longest but it was easy.  The recipe called for sugar, sake and rice vinegar to go over the rice.  Stinky yet delicious. So we took a lot of pictures and here they are!! Don’t worry, I didn’t add all of them.  Hey, we like to document things around here.  Especially monumental events like sushi and ninja headbands.

Nicole adding the rice to the seaweed.  This part was super sticky!!

Add all of the goodies that you want on your roll.  As much as you want!! ANYTHING YOU WANT!!

Then holy roll that baby up.  This part is a tiny bit tricky…but not too bad at all.

Top it off with some toasted sesame seeds.  Yummy!!

I was pretty proud of us.

Then we played a little.  You have to, right?

Such a good little Texan.

Wait for it…..

Super stealth ninja sushi!!

This is where Nicole took the knife away from me.  No really, she totally did.

Yummy!!

And then we ate sushi…and it was good.  We nailed it.

Success!!

You should try making it on your own.  It is a lot easier than it looks and extremely tasty.  I’m talking all kinds of extremely tasty.  Next time? We’re tackeling homemade pasta! Mmm mmm mm.

10 Responses to “Sushi Ninjas”

  1. Victoria (Batzy) Says:

    aww how adorable! looks like you had a great time 🙂
    I need to learn how to make vegan sushi 🙂

  2. Cheray Says:

    yummm!!!
    “fake” sushi is my favourite kind (never tried anything raw! eeeps!)
    Looks like you had super ninja fun 🙂
    Making sushi is going on my list of things to do before the year is through!
    x

  3. Laura Wynn Says:

    these pictures are amazing!! The perfect thing to look at right before a Monday. I’ve been wanting to make sushi forever..but Ive been a little hesitant. …after seeing these pictures though I am so going to!! Thanks for inspiring me, I needed it. 🙂

  4. Jamie (inspired mess) Says:

    Oh my goodness, I love you girls! Looks so good and like so much fun!!! Love it! Great pics! I had to laugh out loud at quite a few of them. 😉
    Awesome time and I love how you captured it. xo

  5. Rebekah Says:

    I haven’t ever made sushi but this makes me feel inspired to try! Actually, to be honest, I haven’t ever eaten sushi either. I do have a vegetable sushi recipe I’ve been curious about though. I’m working on overcoming an aversion I’ve had to fish for most of my life, so maybe I’ll work up to the fishy kind!

    Also I love making homemade pasta. You should totally try it! Very fun thing to do with someone else. Just make sure you get a good dough recipe, and also it is much easier with a pasta maker than rolling out by hand.

  6. bookjunkie Says:

    I am drooling and craving for sushi right after looking at your fabulous photos. Where’s your wasabi? I love to add a lot and it will shoot right up my nose into my brain!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Oh don’t you worry! We had a little bit of wasabi goodness going on. Although, I didn’t taste any. One of my friends ate an entire ball of wasabi two weeks ago!! It was insane. That would do some damage. If I can find the video I’ll send it your way. I’m sure you have great sushi over there, eh?

  7. Lauren Says:

    Oh man now I really really want some sushi!! My husband and I made our own awhile back and it was so fun and good!!

Leave a Reply

