That One Time I Swallowed My Tooth…

Sometimes things happen and you have no idea why and then sometimes things happen and you still…have no idea why.  Today I experienced one of these moments and strangely enough this stuff happens to me quite often. 

Here’s how the chain of events went down.  I was at Whole Foods picking up some items to make the yummiest pumpkin muffins you’ve ever experienced!! Before I left, I picked up a super tasty and addicting fruit rope.  So delicious in it’s organic all natural made for children way. 

{the culprit}

I need to go back in time for just a second here.  As you may or may not recall, I had a front tooth implant surgery back in July.  You can jog your memory and read more about that here (part I) and here (part II) .  The main instruction received after surgery was that whatever happened – DO NOT EAT ON THE FRONT TOOTH.  See, they put a temporary tooth in place until the gums healed and I could get the real hardcore super duper not going anywhere permanent fake tooth.  Thoroughly confused yet?  Awesome.  Currently, I’m about one week away from getting my permanent tooth but still need the fake one for a tiny bit longer.  This implant surgery was in JULY and it’s now November and the temporary tooth and I had no problems with anything….not chips, caramel apples, cupcakes, sushi, pizza, you get the point.  We had no problems until the for children strawberry flavored fruit rope.

Back to the story.  I left Whole Foods and really wanted that fruit rope.  So I ate it.  I was almost finished when I noticed something super crunchy going on.  Weird, I thought and kept eating it because I just assumed it was a janky piece of fruit rope.  I realized too late after looking into the rearview mirror and saw that I WAS MISSING A TOOTH!! It had broken off somehow and I cracked it….swallowing half of the tooth along with half of the dang implant protection.  Um….disaster but not a total disaster because I managed to salvage part of the tooth remains.  The sickest part?  I had to wash the 1/2 tooth down with this because I was struggling a bit.  Struggling as in I could feel it stuck in my throat! Grossed out?  There’s more.

{notice the remaining 1/2 of my tooth making a special cameo appearance in the bottom left of this picture. hey, buddy.}

With the help of after hour dental help and my amazing dentist and oral surgeon I have an emergency surgery at 7 am tomorrow morning to try and fix this debauchery.  Here we go again. 

So now….the moment of truth.  I know why you’re all here.  To see me without a front tooth.  What’s wrong with you people? Ok fine, here it is for all of the internet world to see.  Yep, more proof that I am a walking mess…and I’ve learned to embrace it and even love it.

{the tiny piece you see is what’s left of the implant protection. i even managed to bite a hole in that!}

My mom had randomly planned a trip to Dallas tomorrow which means she will once again be nursing me back to health after oral surgery.  A mother’s work is truly never done. 

This is the THIRD TIME that I’ve had a traumatic experience with a tooth loss.  I’ll write the other stories out this week because believe me, they’re just as special.  I guess it could always get worse.  Plus, I’ve laughed a lot about this and thought I’d share if maybe you got a chance to laugh as well. 

XxooxX

31 Responses to “That One Time I Swallowed My Tooth…”

  1. Meredith Says:

    hahahahaahhahaha i love you and i love your life.

  2. Molly - Digital Mom Blog Says:

    OMG I LOVE IT! SOO ARKANSAS – you can totally rock that look (no offense to anyone from Arkansas or missing a front tooth).

    LMK if you need ANYTHING!

  3. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Haha, ohh noo. Just another example of why your blog is my favorite. 🙂

  4. donna norvell Says:

    I agree with Jamie that your blog is the best ever Laura! I always look forward to your next adventure that makes me smile at the end of the day or whatever time get to see it. You are truly one of a kind and I am so thankful God put you in my life! Your tooth story really made me laugh and I love it! I will be praying for you as you go to oral surgeon in the morning. So glad your precious Mom will be with you.

    Blessings and much love my friend. 🙂 Isa. 40:31

  5. jazziefizzle Says:

    hahaha oh my you poor thing! Sorry I had to laugh though there is just something so comical about the whole situation, and you look like a very cute hick with the missing tooth haha.

    I lost half of my very front tooth (which was fake after a rock pool slide incident when I was about 10) while eating a caramel lolly type thing… the worst part is I was about 14 (very awkward age already) and we were on our way to an event that I had to attend with my mum. The rest of the afternoon was spent speaking with my hand over my mouth haha. so embarrassing! But thankfully no photos exist haha.

    Oh best of luck with the dentist tomorrow! Will be thinking of you!!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      I once lost one of my teeth on a caramel lolly thing too!! Oh goodness, we are teeth twins. You poor little lamb. Teeth really do make a difference in how we feel about ourself. Goodness. You’re the best.

  6. Rand Says:

    Haha I laughed. You are awesome.

  7. donna norvell Says:

    Hi Laura – I must admit that I am not happy about your tooth as I know that part is not fun and really feel for you. You just seem to always make “lemonade” out of the lemons in life and it is so special.

    One time I had this new recipe for peanut brittle and made some for a friend. I thought it didn’t look quite right but my friend wanted it. I got a call from her the next day and she was laughing so hard! She said she took a bite of the brittle and it was so sticky that it took her gold crown right off! She had to go in and have a new one put on and I felt awful but she thought it was so funny! You and she would get along great. She is now 80 years young. Needless to say, I tossed that recipe and found the one I made for you when I came to Dallas.

    Have a great evening and know I am praying for you. Hugs and love. 🙂 Psalm 4:8

  8. ~calista~ Says:

    You are brave. And totally cute! I hope your surgery goes well!

  9. joy marie Says:

    omg, you are so cute…no matter what 🙂

  10. Rebekah Says:

    Your post was so exactly what I needed today. So cool when God brings us encouragement in unexpected places! I’m really sad for your traumatic tooth experience, but perhaps it can bring a little meaning for you that your sharing it brought some encouragement to someone else?

    To commiserate…when I was a kid I took unimaginably bad care of my teeth. This has, obviously, led to some serious dental work, and I have had my share of traumatic tooth experiences. I don’t have any implants, but I do have 4 crowns (including one in the front that I had to get after breaking a bad tooth on a cookie…actually it’s the same tooth you just broke). Anyway after a relatively good stretch of happy dental visits (cause I really do my best to take care of my teeth now) I just went to the dentist on Friday and it was less than encouraging. I guess I’ve been feeling a little homesick and stressed out lately anyway so mixed in with other things it sent me into a bit of a tailspin.

    All that to say your willingness to share and the lovely, somewhat humorous spin you’re able to put on it has brought me a little sunshine and perspective today. Also the picture of the old lady on the bottle of tea made me laugh.

    Blessings and peace to you! I hope all goes well with your surgery! 🙂

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      hi Rebekah!! Oh good. Trust me, I had my moments of sheer panic. I always get bad news at the dentist. I feel your pain. I hope you’re feeling better soon! Maybe a Christmas Starbucks cup will help slightly….or maybe not. Hopefully you’ll be home over Thanksgiving. It’s so close! Hang in there! 🙂

  11. Cheray Says:

    Oh noooo!!! Not more tooth heartache?!!
    You poor love! 😦
    Good thing your mama is coming to visit!
    Hope it goes well and stays in place this time xxx

  12. Kamrie Says:

    This is great. It would be even better if you went around toothless for one week taking every chance you get to smile at people just to see their reactions! Just something to chew on for a bit.

  13. Jamie (inspired mess) Says:

    LOL, I’m sorry but I can’t help but laugh. First, the story is awesome. Second, you’re still purty with or without your tooth. Third, was the fruit rope worth it? 😉
    Praying for you this morning while you’re in surgery! Love you! xoxo

  14. Minda Says:

    you need to meet my friend Jaclyn.
    She has had similar situation. Except with her 2 front teeth. Started back in middle school when her two front teeth collided with a jr. high boy’s head….and her teeth were left in his head. No joke.

    So since then- her front two teeth have given her heck. And most recently- the just recently finished permanent teeth- oh yeah. they came out when she got hit in the face while being a counselor at a summer camp.

    Back to the temporary teeth.

    glad you shared the story. 🙂

    AND posted the pic 😉

  15. Jamie Says:

    Please make sure you include all of the great moments that happen right BEFORE you go under and right AFTER. That’s the best part!!

  16. Erin Tang Says:

    Do you have tooth nightmares? I do!

  17. bookjunkie Says:

    Do you know what. You look super cute even with a missing tooth 🙂 and you’ve got to be pretty darn cute in the first place to carry off a toothless look 😉

  18. Stephanie ;) Says:

    Haha! I swallowed my entire tooth when I was young during lunch. I had no idea until I took my next mouthful of rice and realised my tooth’s gone! I was totally disgusted then. That said, you still look good without that tooth, rather cute actually. 🙂

  19. Stephanie Says:

    One of the best stories EVER!!!

    EPIC!

Leave a Reply

