Into The Wild

I guess you can say that I read a lot. Well, I read a lot of new books and rarely go back to the same book twice. That is until I experienced the tragic beauty and honesty of Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer. It’s a powerful book and a gorgeous movie. Yes, I like it all a great deal.

{google image}

The message stirs something in me. I’m sure most of you have already read it but I’ve listed out a few of my favorite quotes below. So good.

“So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more damaging to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure.”

“The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

“You are wrong if you think Joy emanates only or principally from human relationships. God has placed it all around us. It is in everything and anything we might experience. We just have to have the courage to turn against our habitual lifestyle and engage in unconventional living.”

“I know that I could not bear the routine and humdrum of the life that you are forced to lead. I don’t think I could ever settle down. I have known too much of the depths of life already, and I would prefer anything to an anticlimax.”

“The peculiar thing about Everett Ruess was that he went out and did the things he dreamed about, not simply for a two-weeks’ vacation in the civilized and trimmed wonderlands, but for months and years in the very midst of wonder…”

“…a challenge in which a successful outcome is assured isn’t a challenge at all.”

Ohmuhgawsh, I love it.

This afternoon, I just began reading a new book. I had finished “Into the Wild” and started to panic (yes really) because I forgot to bring a second book on my trip. I found it at the airport bookstore and can’t put it down! In fact, I will return to it now. Goodnight!

11 Responses to “Into The Wild”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Waiiiiiit a minute! You cannot leave me hanging like that!!! What is the new book you are reading?

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      HAHA! Busted…..I just started “Little Bee”. It’s wonderful and sad and written in a way that won’t let you put it down. Get it now!! Some parts are a liiiiiiiiittle scandalous (kind of) but it’s a really good story.

  2. Cheray Says:

    Yes! What is this new book??
    Into the Wild sounds amazing! How have I not heard of this?!!
    Plus that first quote is beautiful and inspiring…. especially since today I quit my job (of almost 4 years) to get a bit of “me” time. To re-evaluate, relax, travel and begin again ❤
    xxx

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      YOU DID?!?! Wow, Cheray! Congratulations for having the courage to do that. The book is incredible. Please read it. 🙂 I just started “Little Bee”. It’s a fiction book but wonderful. I can’t put it down.

  3. bookjunkie Says:

    The movie was hauntingly beautiful….and now I must read the book.

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Lovin the quotes! Thanks for sharing lady 🙂

  5. Laura Wynn Says:

    I’ve never seen the movie, or read the book! Gosh, I better get to the library! I loved this: “The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure.” wowzers!
    PS-you’ve got an award over at mi bloggo!

  6. Katy Says:

    ah! i need to read the book now! i’ve only seen the movie and i loved it…and i usually am a book person anyway =)

Leave a Reply

