CS Lewis Is My Hero

{We Heart It}

Sometimes there are authors you run across who seem to speak right into your soul with every word you read.  CS Lewis does this for me.  The man had a creative, beautiful and awe inspiring imagination as well as a profound view of God.  I wanted to share a few of my favorite Lewis quotes because his words have changed my life.  Words are powerful, ya know? 

A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the sun by scribbling the word, ‘darkness’ on the walls of his cell.
–CS Lewis
Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither.
CS Lewis
Literature adds to reality, it does not simply describe it. It enriches the necessary competencies that daily life requires and provides; and in this respect, it irrigates the deserts that our lives have already become.
–CS Lewis
You don’t have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body.
–CS Lewis
Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.
CS Lewis
We live, in fact, in a world starved for solitude, silence, and private: and therefore starved for meditation and true friendship.
–CS Lewis
Love is something more stern and splendid than mere kindness.
–CS Lewis
It was when I was happiest that I longed most…The sweetest thing in all my life has been the longing…to find the place where all the beauty came from.
–CS Lewis
Oh goodness….beauty and truth with every thought he chose to share with the world.  I love it.  Want some of his books?  Easy…go here.
9 Responses to “CS Lewis Is My Hero”

  1. Douglas Says:

    You are such a ray of sunshine and joy. We’ll never meet, but thanks.

  2. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    I love C.S. Lewis. That reminds me that I badly need to finish the Space Trilogy and send it back to a friend now. ha ha.

  3. Laura Wynn Says:

    mm, these are beautiful. I love that one about the soul. PS-just noticed your page was snowing! How wicked cool is that?! Brilliant 🙂

  4. Rebekah Says:

    Are you familiar with Brooke Fraser’s C.S. Lewis Song? Love it, and totally based on this quote! I know the song but I hadn’t read the quote yet so I’m a little backwards.

Leave a Reply

