New Year’s Resolutions & Stuff

Here we go again.  This year I’ve decided to choose smaller goals for myself.  I usually make it a month into the new year before all hope is dashed for my pretty resolutions.  Maybe 2011 will be different. 

1. Learn To Love The Beauty In Making French Press Coffee

{We Heart It}

I got the prettiest little french press for Christmas and can’t wait to start using it.  It may seem like a silly resolution but some of my favorite moments and conversations have happened under the influence of coffee. 

2. Practice Photography & Editing On Something Other Than My iPhone

{We Heart It}

I do have a deep like and appreciation for my iPhone 3GS…let this be known.  However, I’ve ended up with quite the collection of beautiful vintage film and newer digital cameras that I should start using.  I’ve had lessons from several friends (and uh boyfriends) who are photographers but I won’t learn anything unless I practice and learn on my own. 

3. Don’t Buy Any New Clothes At Full Price

{We Heart It}

I spend the majority of my paycheck on pretty dresses and other types of clothes.  This year I’ve decided to purchase more thrift and vintage items and learn to sew a bit.  I don’t want to pay full price for anything which is why my employee discount at UO will work purrfectly in this equation.

4. Journal Daily

{We Heart It}

I literally have piles of full journals that I’ve written in throughout the years.  It’s easy to let journaling pass by when you blog, twitter, instagram, facebook and everything in between.  Journaling is good for the soul so I’m trying to write every day, even if it’s only one sentence.  Yup.  Discipline.

5. Budget, Budget, Budget

{We Heart It}

Thankfully, I was able to pay off all my credit card debt before Christmas.  This was a huge blessing for sure.  Now that I’m 100% debt free I intend to stay that way but also continue to have fun.  It’s all about cash budget and that pesky envelope system….with a few tweaks of course.  I’m hoping to visit Ireland/Scotland within the next few months and need to start saving those pennies. 

6. Blog With More Intention

{We Heart It}

I started this blog last April and I’ve loved the journey it’s already taken me on.  I’ve met some amazing people, been inspired creatively, learned more about myself, found a way to keep up with friends and family and had a place to share all the pictures I love to take.  It really has been the most fun.  In 2011 I would like to become more intentional about posting regularly and even adding some scheduled posts – like wardrobe photos, book and music recommendations, recipes, travel tips, interviews with people who inspire me, more focus on photography, etc.  I’m looking forward to it!

So that’s it! Short and sweet.  What are your resolutions for the new year?  Good luck!!!

15 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions & Stuff”

  1. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Good resolutions! Especially that photography one. 😀 Ha ha. Also, some of the best coffee I’ve ever had came from French presses. mmm …

    My resolutions include taking the time. For people, for experiences, for myself. I need to stop and savor, and do things that may not be work.

    I need to read more “normal” books, travel more and blog even though I’m busy. Also, I need to make it so I’m not horribly exhausted by the weekend, so I have an easier time getting to church.

    Haha, all of my goals relate to making time for things even though I’m busy. I guess I see a good trend now. 🙂

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      You’ve had a revelation! Hehe! I love this, Jamie. I’m sure you’re more than capable of meeting and going above any goals you’ve set for yourself. The church one is a good one. I should do that as well. You are such a busy guy! I don’t see how you fit it all in! Happy New Year!

  2. Tiffany Says:

    these are great! i love your resolutions!! they are awesome and inspiring!! thank you for sharing!
    i am not sure what mine are yet~ i think of the things i need and want to do and then i have a hard day and it turns into something simple like “continue to get out of bed every day”. 🙂
    have a wonderful week!

    • sunshineandstarlight Says:

      Hi, Tiffany! You’re such a strong and lovely woman. I’ve loved getting to know you in the blog world and Happy Mail. I know how you feel. Sometimes it’s best to take it one day at a time. I hope this New Year is filled with lots of happy times for you.

  3. Mandy Says:

    These are great resolutions! I’m definitely with you on the
    Budget, Budget, Budget! and Blog with More Intention goals,
    too.

  4. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Love them all! You’ll be able to do it!

  5. danielle Says:

    i stumbled across this and i think i have fallen in love.
    🙂

  6. Shawty Raunch Says:

    Loved this girlie!! I can’t wait to see the rest:). Loving
    you…xxoo

  7. Robin Matteri Says:

    BEST.RESOLUTIONS.I’VE seen this year…..:) Go
    girl!

  8. Tigpan Says:

    Hello love,
    I love these resolutions and fully support them. I’m working on a blog of my own that will echo some of these thoughts, and add a few of my own. I’ve decided this year not to have “resolutions” they sound so harsh…so I’m composing sentences around “thoughts and ideas” that are floating around in my head.
    One of them…to spend more time with people I enjoy…that means you…let’s sync our calendars quickly!

Leave a Reply

