Mark Twain Was The Coolest

I’m sure all of you have read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer or Huckelberry Finn at some point in your life.  I was in third grade the first time I stumbled upon the mind and imagination of Mark Twain.  His life and works have fascinated me ever since.  Plus, he’s got one heck of an award winning mustache.

{google image// check out that stache!!}

A few years ago, while in Hartford, CT I visited his home and took a tour to learn more about this man that outraged and won over so many different people during his life.

{Mark Twain’s house// google image}

Why am I telling you all of this?  Because I’m a huge nerd and totally geeking out about the Mark Twain autobiography which was just released.  He didn’t allow it to be published until he had been dead for 100 years…which is now.  That’s how you build some intrigue!  I’m currently reading his biography but will start the new one soon.  You should check it out, if you’re into that sort of thing.  I’ll leave you with some of my fave Twain quotes.  Who doesn’t love a good quote every now and again? Exactly.

{We Heart It}

A man is never more truthful than when he acknowledges himself a liar.
-Twain

A person who won’t read has no advantage over one who can’t read.
-Twain

Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest.
-Twain

Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured.
-Twain

Do the thing you fear most and the death of fear is certain.
-Twain

Don’t part with your illusions. When they are gone, you may still exist, but you have ceased to live.
-Twain

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
-Twain

Love is the irresistable desire to be irresistibly desired.
-Twain

//i could go on forever but i’ll stop here.

14 Responses to “Mark Twain Was The Coolest”

  1. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. I love these. Thank you thank you thank you!

  2. Maryam Says:

    Awesome! I hadn’t heard about his autobiography! I’ll have to check it out, I love his books too!

  3. Jeremy Says:

    I cannot wait to read his autobiography. It’s a couple down the list but making me read faster so I can get to it faster 🙂

  4. bookjunkie Says:

    I love the quotes……inspirational and true.

  5. Tyson Says:

    Just got the complete works of Twain on my Kindle for $.99. Yeah, I was pretty excited. The autobiography is a purchase I’ll be making pretty soon. Thanks for the quotes.

  6. Douglas Says:

    I checked out the audio version of the new auto biography. Much food for thought.

    This project is incredible and they are not making you buy the book(s).

    http://www.marktwainproject.org/

    Enjoy!

  7. Cheray Says:

    OMG I love these so much!
    I think I need to just sit for a few hours and read some of his quotes…
    xxx

  8. mydear Says:

    love all his quotes, at most the one with the illusions. and his house is so beautiful, i think it looks like enchanted. his books are just great, mark twain has something of a genious. (i`m from europe, so sorry for my bad english)

Leave a Reply

