I Get By…

…with a little help from my friends. 

And I do admit that I think they’re ah-mazing.

I came home after a normal day at the office and found a little piece of happiness in my mailbox.  There was a package from Jamie just waiting to be opened.  Inside I found the kindest note and this adorable cloud pin! She made it herself and sent it my direction.  I’m still smiling about it.

How in the world I fell into a pile of amazingly brilliant and loving people I may never know.  I thank the Lord every day for the friendships I’m lucky enough to have.  Seriously.  The kind of friends who make a point to call, text, mail letters, make roadtrips, send emails, ask deep questions, never tire of the trouble I get into, put up with my insane travel schedule and always always love me unconditionally.

I know friendship by example and I also know I have a long way to go before I repay all of the kindness they have shown me.  In a world full of online relationships (of which I do have many fantastic virtual friends) I’m so happy to have plenty of people close and willing to give a hug or lend an ear when I need it.  It takes work and effort to keep up with people but they’re worth it and I’m thankful they think I’m worth it too. 

“We live, in fact, in a world starved for solitude, silence, and private: and therefore starved for meditation and true friendship.”
–CS Lewis

8 Responses to “I Get By…”

  1. donna norvell Says:

    Hi Laura – I agree with you wholeheartedly and I thank the Lord for the friendship we share in Him. I am looking forward to seeing you in Nashville soon and giving you a big hug and getting to see your great smile. Sending a package to WOF this week with goodies for all of you rather than packing them for Nashville. Hope you enjoy.

    Have a great week in the Lord.

    Love n hugs. 🙂 Psalm 23

  2. Kimi Says:

    how lovely was that! it is amazing of the blog friends that are out there. very crazy we can meet amazing people through the online world, but may never meet them in person.

  3. Jamie (inspired mess) Says:

    What a beautiful post!!! So glad you enjoyed your little goody. Hope today is full of sunshine and laughter!!! Miss your face!!! Love ya! xoxo

  4. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Friendship is a beautiful thing – I have been learning how to be transparent and blatantly real and that is wonderful. It’s a freeing experience, to know that real and difficult conversations can happen and when we come out on the other side, there is still love.

    I am so glad you have friends who love you and love on you :-}

Leave a Reply

