Why The Snow Was My Fault…

{the arctic blast of 2011}

Every once in a while, like everybody else, I start to wonder how on earth I’m going to accomplish everything that’s happening in my life.  I don’t just want to accomplish things but I want to enjoy them and do them well…110%.  However, there are seasons where I panic just a little and get overwhelmed with being pulled in 75 million different directions.  I like it, don’t misunderstand me, I just panic at the thought of no time to myself and no time to be home in my cozy little apartment, doing nothing but reading a good book and listening to pretty music. 

Two weeks ago, I was at the panic point.  I prayed a quick little prayer asking the Lord to help me fit everything in but also not completely lose my mind.  Then on Monday night the snow and ice began to fall and I, along with thousands of other people, found myself snowed in for an entire week. 

{went for a walk in the snow…i told my shadow that i wanted to be alone but she didn’t listen…she never does}

What did I do all week long?  I worked from home but besides that I did absolutely  nothing.  I did nothing because I didn’t have a choice!  Well I did a few things…stayed in my pajamas all week long, made french press coffee every morning with time to enjoy it, read good books, caught up with some friends over email and phone calls, cleaned everything then cleaned everything again, went on walks by myself, spent a lot of time with Chrissy (she lives next door to me but I still don’t have as much time with her as I’d like), read good books, listened to lovely tunes, baked, took photos, watched movies, started making homemade Valentines, listened to podcasts from my church….etc, etc, etc.

{walking behind my apartment….so cold but so perfect}

Of course, I’m not saying that God allowed it to snow just so I would  have some alone time to gather my thoughts and rest but I am saying it was exactly what I needed.  Not only did I get time to myself but I also got snow….and that is wonderful.  I {love} snow.  It transforms the everyday into a fairytale. 

Prayer is a request.  The essence of a request, as distinct from compulsion, is that it may or may not be granted.  And if an infinitely wise Being listens to the requests of finite and foolish creatures, of course He will sometimes grant and sometimes refuse them.  Invariable “success” in prayer would not prove the Christian doctrine at all.  It would prove something much more like magic – a power in certain human beings to control, or compel, the course of nature.
–CS Lewis

So…the snow is melting now.  It was perfect while it lasted but I am going a bit stir crazy. I think one more day without much human interaction and I would have completely lost it.  Hehe.  See?  I was on the brink.

{cray cray cabin fever}

Tomorrow I’m back at work, then on Tuesday I’m flying out to Nashville for an entire week for a work trip.  Hooray!! Ok….I’m going to finish my Valentines and make cupcakes now.  I’m taking advantage of my last ‘snow day’.  Real life begins again tomorrow and I’m all prepared.  God is good.  He takes care of us…always…and in the best of ways, so that we can’t take any of the credit. 

Sorry about the snow, guys.  Maybe next time I’ll pray that it would rain cupcakes.  *wink

8 Responses to “Why The Snow Was My Fault…”

  1. scarletcordministries Says:

    I know exactly what you mean. In Missouri we have gotten tons of snow. It has been awesome to sit back and relax. I could do whatever I wanted that day. If people wanted me to do this or that I could just say oh that snow fellow is keeping me hostage and leave at that.
    Great alone time!

  2. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    I was quite ready for a little break, too … Just a little reminder of God’s great timing. 🙂 I’m glad you got to catch your breath, and I hope you have a wonderful time with everything!

    Also, your last thought brings new meaning to “sprinkles” with cupcakes! haha.

  3. Laura Wynn Says:

    So true! Glad you got such a good break! Can’t wait for our cupcake rain! 😉

  4. Cheray Says:

    Sounds like it was just what you needed lovely!
    I had a similar feeling while I was travelling and ended up getting a bunch of me-time, without even realising it!
    blessing in disguise ❤
    x

  5. ~ calista ~ Says:

    I love how God uses our circumstances to give us what we need. He is awesome!

  6. Jacq Wallace Says:

    I love your photos!

  7. christin Says:

    loved this post, your honesty and what you did with your snow days in! thanks for posting that c.s. lewis – his words are so wise and speak such Truth.

Leave a Reply

