Like A Child

I made my own Valentines this year for the first time since 4th grade.

{taken with my iPhone}

I used my typewriter, some vintage buttons, doilys (what a silly word), glue sticks, a bicycle stamp and a few hours I didn’t have.  There’s something to this art therapy thing, I believe.

{my Valentine}

As much joy as I got making pretty Valentines for my friends and family, I think I got more from the act of creating something with my hands.  You see, when I was a child I constantly created.  I made all sorts of crafty things and never stopped to critically observe each piece, wondering if they were pretty enough or if this was something I was good at.  I just made….to bring something into existence that wasn’t there before.  That’s the only reason, because it made me happy. 

But somewhere down the line I stopped making things.  I started believing the lie in my head that said I wasn’t creative enough and would never be ‘one of those people’….you know, the super amazingly wonderful artsy types that we all aspire to be like {someday}. 

Where did this believe originate from?  I have absolutely no idea.  Maybe when it became ‘cooler’ to play with makeup rather than make homemade Valentine’s cards or when ‘popular’ was based on the brand of clothes you wore and not original creations made in your bedroom, with a glue gun and popsicle sticks. 

Wherever the lie started, it’s finally being removed from my thoughts.  This makes me wonder.  What else did we love as a child and then suddenly, before we even realized, that love became replaced with the idea that it was a silly thing to love in the first place and we weren’t really good enough at it anyway to care?  It’s quite silly and I’m over it.  I’m going to go make something now.  Have a great Sunday!

{little me}

The pursuit of truth  and beauty is a sphere of activity in which we are permitted to remain children all our lives.
-Einstein
13 Responses to “Like A Child”

  1. Digital Mom Says:

    Thank you SO much for the Valentine! I kept wondering what font you used.. oh TYPEWRITER 🙂

  2. "Little" Momma Says:

    Nike was on to something when they said, “Just do it!”
    Look at those cute little NIKE shoes on that adorable little
    girl!!

  3. Jaclyn Rae Says:

    These are so cute!!! 🙂

  4. donna norvell Says:

    Thanks for sharing Laura and I am so glad you are now able to create as you are so very creative and live life the fullest!

    Great seeing you just for a moment in Nashville.

    Have a blessed week in the Lord.

    Love ya much.

  5. jamie Says:

    I loved my valentine! It made my day! 🙂

  6. Tiffany Says:

    awesome awesome and more awesome! 🙂

  7. jazziefizzle Says:

    oh I love love love the bike one! you are so very creative! Never stop making things!! xx

  8. Erin Tang Says:

    You used to put homemade cards in my suitcase when I went to camp…AWWWWWWWW

  9. Cheray Says:

    never stop creating things lovely!
    I do know the feeling…
    as a child you’re fearless about most things (ok – i was always scared of cupboards being open at night!) & somehow we start letting little lies take over!
    Here’s to reclaiming that childlike wonder
    x

  10. Amyq Says:

    Yes!!! So wonderful:). You’re amazing. Xooooo

Leave a Reply

