Austin, TX Weekend

This past weekend could not have been any better.  It was the perfect blend of plans and no plans at all.  A roadtrip to Austin for a gorgeous spring weekend filled with ice cream, yummy food, giggling, great conversation, kayaks, sunburns, coffee jitters, sunshine, hugs and that overall feeling of being happy to be alive.

{myself and Carli}

My friend Evan flew in from Phoenix on Friday afternoon and we made the short 3.5 hour drive to the ATX.  I {love} a good roadtrip.  Especially when it’s with somebody who makes you laugh and can carry on a good conversation.  Not the forced conversation full of uncomfortable silences but the genuine kind that comes from liking the company of the one you’re with.

{say ‘hi’ to Evan}

We spent most of our time with Carli and John.  I adore this couple beyond words.  It’s such a pleasure being in their presence.  I’m in a constant state of giggling when I’m around Carli.  Thankfully neither Evan or John seemed to mind.  They talked about manly things while Carli and I skipped about, catching up on life.  We all went kayaking on Saturday afternoon.  I had never been before but it was so much fun.  Of course, I’m sunburnt from my nose to my knees to my elbows…so worth it.  Yes, I had on spf 50 and I still came back pink as can be.  Carli brought her iPhone onto their kayak to sneak a few photos.  Brave girl, that one. 

Afterwards, we explored South Congress stopping first to have Amy’s Ice Cream.  My choice?  Mexican vanilla with nutter butter, of course.  So good.  I need it…right now.  We also spent a little time in Uncommon Objects.  They have the coolest collection of antiques and vintage treasures.  It’s like stepping into Wonderland.

{Amy’s Ice Cream makes everybody happy}

{Uncommon Objects}

{Uncommon Objects}

Yep, a great weekend indeed.  I’m thankful for good friends, sunshine and pretty music.  And for kayaks.  Oh yea, and for peanut butter and avacados.  Not together….that’s just weird.

5 Responses to “Austin, TX Weekend”

  1. Victoria (Batzy) Says:

    you sure know how to have fun!
    Thanks for sharing all these cute-happy photos, love the light and colors :3

  2. carli Says:

    Laura!! I’m so thankful for you! It was a fabulous weekend, the most crazy fun in 2011! Thanks for hanging out with us! I love you!! Come back soon! No wait– move here soon! 🙂

  3. ~ calista ~ Says:

    Awesomeness :-} Looks like a wonderfully fun weekend! Did you know that avocado ice cream exists? I have not tried it…yet.

  4. Erin Tang Says:

    no snow cones??

  5. Cheray Natalie Says:

    aww looks like you all had a blast!
    absolutely love your pics x

Leave a Reply

