You Should Read This: The Happiness Project

{via google image}

I’m a traveler and a bookworm, which means I spend a good chunk of change on airport reading material.  If I’m about to get on a flight without at least two books to read I go into panic mode.  It’s weird, I know.  I’ll work it out later.  I was browsing the bookstore in some random city airport when I stumbled onto The Happiness Project.  I’m working with a 50/50 chance of random book purchases being worth it when I buy blindly, without knowledge of what’s inside.  THIS was a great purchase!  I LOVED it.  Maybe because I’m a pretty happy person and maybe because it’s about a lady who studied the theories and principles of happiness for an entire year or because it’s full of great quotes or because Gretchen Rubin is a blogger.  Whatever it was, she had me at the first page.

{print on Etsy, found here}

Here are a few of my most favorite lines from the book:

-The days are long, but the years are short.
-Studies show that each common interest between people boosts the chances of a lasting relationship and also brings about a 2 percent increase in life satisfaction.
-What you enjoyed as a ten-year-old is probably something you’d enjoy now.
-Fun is energizing.
-I can do anything I want, but I can’t do everything I want.
-Taking the time to be silly means that we’re infecting one another with good cheer, and people who enjoy silliness are one third more likely to be happy.
-Everyone from contemporary scientists to ancient philosophers agrees that having strong social bonds is probably the most meaningful contributor to happiness.  

Intrigued yet?
You can purchase the book here!
You can also check out Gretchen’s blog, The Happiness Project, here.
An entire study on happiness.  I like.

5 Responses to “You Should Read This: The Happiness Project”

  1. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Sounds like a great book! I need to work on just being able to pick up something I don’t know much about. That’s how horizons get expanded. 🙂

  2. carli Says:

    Great read, Laura! I want to get it now! I think you were telling me about it already in OKC?? Thanks for sharing little L! Have a great day!

  3. ~ calista ~ Says:

    I picked up The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks in the airport for exactly the same reason: just because I needed something to read. Loved it, and I didn’t think I would {I don’t read nonfiction books about bioethnics very often}.

    Thanks for the recommendation – I’ll pick that one up soon!

  4. Manny Wordsmith Says:

    I just saw this at the bookstore and was wondering if it was a good read. I’ll definitely will be picking it up now. It sounds really interesting and I’m excited to see if this feat is possible!

Leave a Reply

